Vox (Hardback)
  • Vox (Hardback)
zoom

Vox (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 23/08/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Waterstones Says

The Handmaid’s Tale for the #metoo era, Dalcher’s searing debut fashions a terrifying world where women are all but silenced. A frighteningly pertinent, fast-paced thriller of extremism run rife.

Silence can be deafening.

Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just one hundred words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you're a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and seventy million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, her daughter, and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning...

[100 WORD LIMIT REACHED]

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008300630
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This book will blow your mind.' - Prima

'Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be.' - Lee Child

'A novel ripe for the era of #MeToo.' - Vanity Fair

'Thought-provoking and set to dominate dinner party chats.' - Cosmopolitan

'A dazzling debut.' - Good Housekeeping

'A truly compulsive novel.' - Stylist

'Thought-provoking and thrilling. I was left speechless!' - Woman and Home

'If you liked Atwood's novel and Naomi Alderman's The Power, I guarantee you will love this.' - The Pool

'A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language.' - Marta Bausells, Elle

'I can't remember the last time I read a book quite this thrilling. VOX is, like all the best dystopian novels, razor sharp and terrifyingly plausible. It is extraordinary.' - Louise O'Neill

'A bold, brilliant and unforgettable debut.' - Alice Feeney 

'VOX is shaping up to be one of my favourite novels of the year!' - Stylist

'Any woman who has ever been shamed into silence will recognise the terrifying vista so vividly portrayed in VOX' - Roisin Ingle, The Irish Times Women's Podcast

'A dark dystopia...The Handmaid 2.0.' - The Evening Standard 

'My favourite book of the year so far...' - Lisa Hall

'VOX has the sort of premise that immediately sets it apart.'- Irish Independent

'The aftershocks of #MeToo have crept into publishing... For fans of Red Clocks, The Power and The Handmaid's Tale'. - Sunday Times Style

'A thought-provoking read on the importance of communication in our relationships, the role we play in the world and our freedom.' - Pyschologies

You may also be interested in...

The Other Passenger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
Just My Luck
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Apollo Murders
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The Handmaiden ‘s Tale meets 1984....”

Vox is set in America in future, women have no voice, can’t hold jobs, can’t read and write and are silenced altogether. In the tradition of The Handmaiden’s Tale and 1984, this future looks frighteningly and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 96
Laura at Wakefield

“The Handmaid's Tale, for our time.”

Dr. Jean McClellen and the rest of the female population of America have been reduced to speaking just 100 words a day, in a society governed by a far-right Christian group who aim to stamp out anyone not... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 57

“WOW!!!”

I was lucky enough to read an advanced copy of this, and oh my gosh, this is AMAZING!!!

As soon as I read the concept of this book I was hooked, and the book is even better than I was expecting, and I was gripped... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 48

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.