Victory in the Desert: Montgomery and the Eighth Army 1942-1943 (Paperback)
  • Victory in the Desert: Montgomery and the Eighth Army 1942-1943 (Paperback)
zoom

Victory in the Desert: Montgomery and the Eighth Army 1942-1943 (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 11/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The end of the beginning... An epic conflict

North Africa was a turning point for the British in the Second World War: a harsh landscape of sand and enemy tanks, but ultimately a place of victory, that Churchill famously called 'the end of the beginning.'

When General Montgomery became commander of the Allied Eighth Army in 1942, he found the troops dispirited after a series of defeats by his nemesis, General Rommel. However, under Monty's inspired leadership the army turned their fortunes around, going on to win seven battles and driving the enemy out of North Africa.

However, little credit has been attributed to the Eighth Army for its victories, and even the legendary Battle of El Alamein has been consistently underrated. This highly informed and gripping account brings to light how the troops, and their leaders, won these decisive battles, and helped to win the war.

Lucid and accessible, this masterly account is vital reading for all enthusiasts of military history. Perfect for readers of Jonathan Dimbleby and Max Hastings.


Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800329430
Number of pages: 304
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

Alice's Book
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Lancaster
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Aftermath
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
East West Street
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Barbarossa
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lost Cafe Schindler
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Spitfire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Checkmate in Berlin
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Women in the War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
1945: Victory in the West
Added to basket
Army Girls
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Operation Pedestal
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Nazi Billionaires
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Operation Mincemeat
Added to basket
The Crew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.