Vespertine (Hardback)
  • Vespertine (Hardback)
zoom

Vespertine (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 05/10/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A nun who cleanses the souls of the dead is charged with the power of an ancient relic in this enthralling fantasy epic of possessed armies and dark magic from the author of Sorcery of Thorns.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Alexandra Bracken and Holly Black.

The dead of Loraille do not rest.

Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, a nun who cleanses the bodies of the deceased so that their souls can pass on. She'd rather deal with the dead than the living, who point and whisper about the odd girl who was once possessed by a violent spirit.

When her convent is attacked by possessed soldiers, Artemisia fights back by awakening an ancient spirit bound to a high saint's relic. It is a revenant, a malevolent being now whispering in her head. Wielding its extraordinary power almost consumes her in body and soul. But death has come to Loraille, and only a vespertine, a priestess trained to wield a high relic, has a chance of stopping it.

As Artemisia investigates a mystery of saints, secrets and dark magic, an ancient evil is stirring. Can an untrained girl, tormented by the burden of containing the revenant's devouring power, have any hope of defeating it?

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781398507944
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 28 mm

You may also be interested in...

They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You'll Be the Death of Me
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Empress & Aniya
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Endgame
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Billie Eilish
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Hawthorne Legacy
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A Dark Fantasy”

Artemisia is a trainee nun who's childhood trauma has left her pretty socially inept. After she accidentally unleashes a powerful spirit that inhabits her body, she must learn to survive and battle and old evil... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Perfect Autumnal Spooky Read”

I absolutely loved Sorcery of Thorns - it was witty, had a fun concept and great characters. They both have the 'evil, powerful entity annoyed at being lumbered with the welfare of a stupid human''... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“The Perfect October Read!”

Thank you to Simon and Schuster UK Children’s for an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Vespertine is the perfect October read filled with spirits, possession (kinda...) and death. The book has... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.