Vanished (Hardback)
  • Vanished (Hardback)
zoom

Vanished (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 496 Pages / Published: 15/04/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

FROM THE GROUNDBREAKING AUTHOR OF 55 COMES AN EXTRAORDINARY NEW THRILLER . . .

'Intense, insightful and impossible to put down' CAZ FREAR

When you go looking for a new start, make sure you don't find a nightmare instead.


The Kane family, Lorcan, Naiyana and their young son, relocate from Perth to Kallayee, an abandoned mining town in the Great Victoria Desert to start over again, free from their chequered past.

The town seems like the perfect getaway: Peaceful. Quiet. Remote. Somewhere they won't be found.

But life in Kallayee isn't quite as straightforward as they hope. There are noises in the earth, mysterious shadows and tracks in the dust, as if the town is coming back to life.

But the family won't leave. No one can talk sense into them.

And now, no one can talk to them at all.

They've simply vanished.

Now it's up to Detective Emmaline Taylor to find them... before it's too late.


** Praise for Vanished **

'Delargy manages to turn the wide-open deserted Outback into something intensely claustrophobic and chilling' Russ Thomas

'Vanished is a gripping tale of greed and betrayal, burning with tension under a harsh Australian sun' Caz Frear

'Brilliantly atmospheric . . . with a sense of menace that pervades every page' Kate Rhodes

'Powered through this in two sittings. Vanished ratchets up the tension page after page, playing out in a perfect isolated setting with such a claustrophobic feel, and so vividly painted you could step right in' Rob Scragg

'There is menace on every page of this atmospheric thriller. An abandoned mining town in the Australian outback is the desolate - almost surreal - backdrop to a tale of a disintegrating family. Perfect for fans of The Dry' Jo Furniss, author of the Amazon Charts best-seller All The Little Children

** Praise for 55 **

'A pulse-pounding psycho-thriller . . . splendidly-engineered plot and a masterly sense of pace allied to a haunting background make for a powerful debut' Crime Time

'A clever concept for this fast-moving debut, fleshed out with a sympathetic hero haunted by grim memories' Sunday Times Crime Club

'Fabulously atmospheric, a splendid slice of outback noir for fans of Jane Harper. The intricately woven plot sucks you into a hostile world and keeps you sweating until the final page' Adam Southward

'
A gripping race through the bleak Australian outback to find a missing family: Vanished captivated and intrigued me from page one' Louisa De Lange

'If you liked The Dry you will like this'

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471177569
Number of pages: 496
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 34 mm

You may also be interested in...

BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Raven88

“An atmospheric thriller...”

I thoroughly enjoyed James Delargy’s previous book 55, so no hesitation in picking up his second, Vanished, once again transporting us to the Australian outback, and into the grip of an intriguing mystery…

The... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2
The_secret_bookreview

“ARC Review”

This book came highly recommended and I really liked the synopsis which promised an original, unusual story. I have heard about the author and his previous book - 55 so was interested. This book is good, can be a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Page-Turner”

This is the first book I've read by this author and would read others.

I enjoyed the writing style and it was written in a way where you think I'll just read one more chapter and before you know its been... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.