Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)
  • Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)
zoom

Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 15/05/2014
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Murano, Italy

When a family celebration brings Glamourists Jane and David Vincent to the Continent, they seize the opportunity to voyage for Murano, to study the world-renowned glassblowers at work. But their ship is set upon by Barbary corsairs en route - and they arrive in Murano penniless.

Fortunately, they meet a gentleman banker who arranges for a line of credit and a place to live. But just as the Vincents start to relax, a solicitor arrives at their house and it becomes clear they have been the victims of an elaborate heist.

Trapped, penniless, their safety in fragile shape, they hatch a reckless plan to get their money back. The ensuing adventure is a glorious envisioning of all the best parts of heist narratives, but in a Regency setting - with magic.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472110206
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 131 x 200 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With magic, manners, mayhem, and no small measure of derring-do - the Glamourist Histories are everything you could wish for in a sleek, fashionable fantasy series. A shimmering adventure for history buffs and glamour enthusiasts alike. -- Cherie Priest
With the grace of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY, a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, [the Glamourist Histories] will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde. * Library Journal *
Kowal has captured both the style and content of an Austen novel, adding her own speculative fiction twist. Readers who enjoyed such novels as Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell will find [the Glamourist Histories] appealing as well * The Jane Austen Centre, Bath *
Startlingly good. -- Patrick Rothfuss
Simply enchanting. -- John Scalzi
A delightful read, with an examination of the craft and emotion of art combined with deftly drawn characters, laugh-out-loud wit and a magical re-imagining of Georgian society. * SFX *
I love these books! They're an ideal mix between adventure, character, and magic. -- Brandon Sanderson
In her Glamourist Histories series, she captures the tone of an Austen or a Heyer, while setting the stories in a world where ladies of Quality must manipulate Glamour to create intricate illusions. * USA Today *

You may also be interested in...

The Fellowship of the Ring
Added to basket
Lore Olympus Volume Two: UK Edition
Added to basket
Book of Night
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Book of Sand
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lightlark
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Hobbit
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Toilet-bound Hanako-kun, Vol. 0
Added to basket
Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 (manga)
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.