Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)
  • Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)
zoom

Valour And Vanity: (The Glamourist Histories #4) - The Glamourist Histories (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 15/05/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Murano, Italy

When a family celebration brings Glamourists Jane and David Vincent to the Continent, they seize the opportunity to voyage for Murano, to study the world-renowned glassblowers at work. But their ship is set upon by Barbary corsairs en route - and they arrive in Murano penniless.

Fortunately, they meet a gentleman banker who arranges for a line of credit and a place to live. But just as the Vincents start to relax, a solicitor arrives at their house and it becomes clear they have been the victims of an elaborate heist.

Trapped, penniless, their safety in fragile shape, they hatch a reckless plan to get their money back. The ensuing adventure is a glorious envisioning of all the best parts of heist narratives, but in a Regency setting - with magic.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472110206
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 131 x 200 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With magic, manners, mayhem, and no small measure of derring-do - the Glamourist Histories are everything you could wish for in a sleek, fashionable fantasy series. A shimmering adventure for history buffs and glamour enthusiasts alike. -- Cherie Priest
With the grace of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY, a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, [the Glamourist Histories] will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde. * Library Journal *
Kowal has captured both the style and content of an Austen novel, adding her own speculative fiction twist. Readers who enjoyed such novels as Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell will find [the Glamourist Histories] appealing as well * The Jane Austen Centre, Bath *
Startlingly good. -- Patrick Rothfuss
Simply enchanting. -- John Scalzi
A delightful read, with an examination of the craft and emotion of art combined with deftly drawn characters, laugh-out-loud wit and a magical re-imagining of Georgian society. * SFX *
I love these books! They're an ideal mix between adventure, character, and magic. -- Brandon Sanderson
In her Glamourist Histories series, she captures the tone of an Austen or a Heyer, while setting the stories in a world where ladies of Quality must manipulate Glamour to create intricate illusions. * USA Today *

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Ninth House
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Alice
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.