Urban Acupuncture (Hardback)
  • Urban Acupuncture (Hardback)
zoom

Urban Acupuncture (Hardback)

(author)
£13.99
Hardback 160 Pages / Published: 07/11/2014
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A visionary of sustainable urbanism reflects on the innovative projects that uplift cities in this meditative journey through vibrant communities around the world. During his three terms as mayor of Curitiba, Brazil in the 1970s and '80s, architect and urbanist Jaime Lerner transformed his city into a global model of the sustainable and livable community. Through his pioneering work, Lerner has learned that changes to a community don't need to be large-scale and expensive to have a transformative impact, in fact, one street, park, or a single person can have an outsized effect on life in the surrounding city. In Urban Acupuncture, his first work published in English, Lerner celebrates these "pinpricks" of urbanism, projects, people, and initiatives from around the world that ripple through their communities to uplift city life. With meditative and descriptive prose, Lerner brings readers around the world to streets and neighbourhoods where urban acupuncture has been practiced best, from the bustling La Boqueria market in Barcelona to the revitalisation of the Cheonggyecheon River in Seoul, South Korea. Through this journey, Lerner invites us to re-examine the true building blocks of vibrant communities, the tree-lined avenues, night vendors, and songs and traditions that connect us to our cities and to one another.

Publisher: Island Press
ISBN: 9781610915830
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 354 g
Dimensions: 207 x 134 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"This is the best of Jaime Lerner, a lover of cities and as true an expert as there is in understanding what makes them tick and how to make them better. To read him is to hear him speak, with gusto, love, humor, deep caring, and inspiring ideas. Urban Acupuncture should be required reading for all students of city planning and for anyone who wants to make a difference in their city."--Allan B. Jacobs "author of Great Streets and other books "
"An architect, planner, and politician of great skill, Jaime Lerner has another talent, on clear display in this lively book: a deep and hard-won understanding that architecture, planning, and politics do not alone make our cities great."--Jeff Speck "author of Walkable City: How Downtown Can Save America, One Step at a Time "
"This book is like having a dinner with a good friend where the conversation just flows, one story after the other, good examples that will stick with you when you go home. One of these evenings where you go home inspired to do something yourself, believing that change can happen."--From the foreword by Jan Gehl "author of Cities for People and Founding Partner, Gehl Architects "
"Jaime follows in the tradition of Jane Jacobs, William Whyte, and many other visionaries who have illuminated the world s thinking on cities. Urban Acupuncture is a work of fierce love for real, living, people-filled cities and cities for people."--From the preface by Carol Coletta "VP/Community and National Initiatives, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation ""

You may also be interested in...

Life Between Buildings
Added to basket
£31.00
Paperback
Making Healthy Places
Added to basket
Seeing the Better City
Added to basket
Bike Boom
Added to basket
£22.99
Paperback
State of the World
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.