Unravelling Oliver (Paperback)
  • Unravelling Oliver (Paperback)
zoom

Unravelling Oliver (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback Published: 06/03/2014

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
This book is the winner - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year 2014. "Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before ...you'll gobble it up in one go." (Heat Magazine). "Gone Girl meets The Spinning Heart ...a great cracking read ...I couldn't put it down". (Ryan Tubridy, RTE). "The compulsion to continue reading never wanes and most impressively the ending doesn't buckle under the weight of expectation ...a persistently satisfying read". (Sunday Times). "A page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense' Sunday Independent 'An ambitiously structured and compelling "whydunnit."' (Daily Mail). "Formidable". (Irish Times). "Reminiscent of The Book of Evidence' RTE Guide 'We read this in one sitting ...satisfyingly unnerving." (Woman's Way). "All I know is I stayed awake until 3am to finish it, which I haven't done with a new novel for longer than I can remember." (Irish Independent). "The best opening line you'll read all year ...and you'll keep reading". (Sinead Crowley, RTE Arts Correspondent). "Her writing is stylish, the characters are vivid and the line of the story is all too real and plausible. Can't recommend it highly enough." (Rick O'Shea, 2FM). "A superb and compelling terrifying book' Sinead Desmond, TV3 'Just read a book in one sitting. Last time I managed that was about twenty years ago. The book was Liz Nugent's Unravelling Oliver". (Declan Burke, CrimeAlwaysPays.ie). "A kind of Irish Mr Ripley ...Gripping, thought-provoking". (Darragh McManus, arts journalist). "I read this book over a 24 hour period. I seriously could not put it down." (Writing.ie). "Magnificent ...compulsively readable ...stunning, shock and superb". (Frank McGuinness). "I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her". Liz Nugent's gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith. Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation. Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him. Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781844883097
Weight: 316 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 17 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi
Added to basket
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bookread2day

“Trust me no reader should miss Unravelling Oliver”

This may sound cruel but I was so into this book that every time my mobile beeped with a text message I ignored it.
I can promise readers once you pick up this book you will not let go of it. Unravelling Oliver is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 48

“Stunning Debut”

"I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her."

The first sentence of Unravelling Oliver is the shocking introduction to Oliver Ryan, one of the most disturbing, dangerous and manipulative... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43
KarenD

“A fabulous debut thriller”

This debut novel from Liz Nugent is a truly gripping and powerful story. From the very first page I was hooked – we have a main character, Oliver, who has admitted to hitting his wife Alice. In fact the second time he... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: