Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder - A Sherlock Holmes Adventure (Paperback)
  • Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder - A Sherlock Holmes Adventure (Paperback)
zoom

Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder - A Sherlock Holmes Adventure (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 05/04/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The new novel from the author of Art in the Blood. December 1889. Fresh from debunking a "ghostly" hound in Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes has returned to London, only to find himself the target of a deadly vendetta.

A beautiful client arrives with a tale of ghosts, kidnapping and dynamite on a whisky estate in Scotland, but brother Mycroft trumps all with an urgent assignment in the South of France.

On the fabled Riviera, Holmes and Watson encounter treachery, explosions, rival French Detective Jean Vidocq... and a terrible discovery. This propels the duo northward to the snowy highlands. There, in a "haunted" castle and among the copper dinosaurs of a great whisky distillery, they and their young client face mortal danger, and Holmes realizes all three cases have blended into a single, deadly conundrum.

In order to solve the mystery, the ultimate rational thinker must confront a ghost from his own past. But Sherlock Holmes does not believe in ghosts...or does he?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008129743
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Haunting, vivid and beautifully plotted, Unquiet Spirits is both an elegant tribute and a cunning update of everything we love about Sherlock Holmes and his world. Bonnie MacBird has done it again!'-Daniel Stashower, Edgar, Agatha, and Anthony award winning author of Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle

`If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes's past into a strong brew!'-Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes

`A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird's take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can't wait for her next book.'-Dana Cameron, BSI, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity award-winning author of the Emma Fielding mysteries

`Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly `spirited' follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere.'-Catriona McPherson, bestselling author of the multi-award-winning Dandy Gilver series

`MacBird's outstanding sequel to 2015's Art in the Blood melds a twisty, multilayered plot with a plausible exploration of Sherlock Holmes's life before Watson ... Will make Sherlockians eager for more from her.'-Publishers Weekly Starred Review

`MacBird could possibly be Conan Doyle reincarnated. I hope this is a lengthy series. A perfect read as the nights draw in.'-CrimeSquad.com

`Ms MacBird does a fine job of re-creating the familiar Holmesian universe'-Wall Street Journal

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
After the Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.