Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)
  • Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)
zoom

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 19/03/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Confrontational and, at times, harrowing, Feldman’s unflinching memoir of her youth in an ultra-strict Haisidic sect is thoroughly compelling from start to finish. Now an acclaimed Netflix series, Unorthodox conveys the suffocating conformism of militant religion in crisp, powerful prose.

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan.

Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781982148201
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 213 g
Dimensions: 213 x 140 x 15 mm
Edition: Media Tie-In


MEDIA REVIEWS

“A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant.” — Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle

“A sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story... Imagine Frank McCourt as a Jewish virgin, and you've got Unorthodox in a nutshell.” — Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

“Compulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life.” — School Library Journal

“It's one of those books you can't put down.” — Joan Rivers, in The New York Post

“An unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience.” — Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“[Feldman’s] matter-of-fact style masks some penetrating insights.” — The New York Times

“Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out—and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape.” — The Huffington Post

“Riveting... extraordinary.” — Marie Claire

You may also be interested in...

Abroad in Japan
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Surviving to Drive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Farmer's Wife
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Trading Game
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
My Name is Barbra
Added to basket
£35.00   £27.99
Hardback
And Away...
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The House of Hidden Meanings
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Making of the Modern Middle East
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Rambling Man
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki
Added to basket
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
Strong Female Character
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket

“Great book”

Great book, based on truth, I have seen the episodes of it under the same name and to be honest, I love book better then the movie.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Breaking Free”

I was looking forward to this book as the Hasidic Community fascinates me. I have seen a couple of documentaries online about male members of this ultra-strict sect leaving but nothing about women trying to break... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23
Michael Rothwell

“Hasidic Satmar Orthodoxy revealed”

254pp of insights and revelations regarding the Hasidic Satmar sect of Judaism, alive and well in Williamsburg, New York as one female strikes out into the naked land of separation. Biographical and very slightly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: