Ts&Cs
apply
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)
  • Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)
zoom

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this "sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781439187012
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 209 g
Dimensions: 214 x 140 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant."
- Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle
"A sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story... Imagine Frank McCourt as a Jewish virgin, and you've got Unorthodox in a nutshell."
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
"Compulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life."
- School Library Journal
"It's one of those books you can't put down."
- Joan Rivers, in The New York Post
"An unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience."
- Minneapolis Star-Tribune
"[Feldman's] matter-of-fact style masks some penetrating insights."
- The New York Times
"Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out-and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape."
- The Huffington Post
"Riveting... extraordinary."
- Marie Claire

You may also be interested in...

Fake Law
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
This Much is True
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Lyrics
Added to basket
£75.00   £60.00
Hardback
Landslide
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
More Than a Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Storyteller
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beyond Possible
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Diddly Squat
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
Will
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Lost Cafe Schindler
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback

“Great book”

Great book, based on truth, I have seen the episodes of it under the same name and to be honest, I love book better then the movie.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Breaking Free”

I was looking forward to this book as the Hasidic Community fascinates me. I have seen a couple of documentaries online about male members of this ultra-strict sect leaving but nothing about women trying to break... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.