Under the Open Skies (Hardback)
  • Under the Open Skies (Hardback)
zoom

Under the Open Skies (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 192 Pages / Published: 15/10/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
For anyone who enjoys the outdoor life, or wants to escape from their normal confines of home and office, this book is a perfect inspiration. In the vein of Lars Mytting's Norwegian Wood or Erling Kagge's Silence, Under the Open Skies: A Practical Guide to Living Close to Nature combines escapism and adventure with a love of nature and the desire for a simpler life.

Twenty years ago, Markus Torgeby traded his hectic urban lifestyle for a small hut in the forests of northern Sweden. He ended up living there for four years, in perfect solitude and in harmony with nature. Today, he and his wife Frida and their three children live in a house he built with his own hands, near the site where he once survived on nothing but oatmeal, river water and the forest's own pantry.

Framed with stunning photographs taken by Frida, Under the Open Skies is the story of Markus's journey from broken youth, to living alone in the forest, to a self-healed family man. Torgeby is proof of the restorative powers of the outdoors and his descriptions of living close to nature combine everyday philosophy and inspirational insights with helpful advice as he shares how to make fire, the best techniques for chopping logs and how best to forage for food.

Part practical guide to how to live in the wild, part a meditation on the human need for a connection with the natural world, Under the Open Skies is the beguiling and timely portrait of how the desire for a simpler existence helped one man find contentment and connection with the world around him, and how we can all learn from his experience.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471196539
Number of pages: 192
Dimensions: 230 x 170 mm

You may also be interested in...

Wild Signs and Star Paths
Added to basket
Mountaineering
Added to basket
£25.00
Paperback
The Secret World of Weather
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
SAS Survival Guide
Added to basket
The Survival Handbook
Added to basket
How to Survive
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Survival Manual
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
50 Things to Do with a Penknife
Added to basket
Where the Wild Things Grow
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Outdoor Cooking
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Wild Food
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
The Yorkshire Forager
Added to basket
Wayfinding
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Adventure Revolution
Added to basket
The Tree Forager
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Knots Step by Step
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.