Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Under The Egg (Paperback)
  • Under The Egg (Paperback)
zoom

Under The Egg (Paperback)

(author)
£5.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 05/08/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather's painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That's great news for Theo, who's struggling to hang onto her family's two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather's legacy of $463. There's just one problem: Theo's grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen. With surprising twists, heartwarming moments, and historical facts, Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure in Under the Egg.

Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
ISBN: 9780142427651
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 196 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Under the Egg

An Indie Next List Pick!

"It's really a very compelling read and I don't know how she did it." - Kate DiCamillo on NPR

"With surprising twists, heartwarming moments and historical facts, Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure in Under the Egg. Art enthusiast or not, any girl will love this book." - GirlsLife.com

* "Along with the themes of research, family commitment, and Holocaust history, fans of Koningsburg's From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Balliett's Chasing Vermeer will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art." - Library Media Connection, starred review

"Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered." - Betsy Bird, SLJ Fuse 8 Blog

"A fast-paced mystery...If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." - Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history." - Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Blue Balliett's Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach's Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper." - School Library Journal

"A gripping mystery with high stakes and moving historical context...[Fitzgerald's] focus on restitution and the personal value of art adds considerable depth to the narrative." - The Horn Book

"Under the Egg" is an exciting page-turner." - Deseret News

"Riveting from start to finish." - BookPage

"This mix of mystery, history and art will keep readers wondering right up to the surprising end." - Discovery Girls

You may also be interested in...

Daisy and the Trouble with School Trips
Added to basket
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Darkest Minds Novel: The Darkest Minds
Added to basket
The World's Worst Children 3
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Added to basket
The Kissing Booth
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Birthday Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
A Tale of Two Kitties
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The 104-Storey Treehouse
Added to basket
Where the World Ends
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.