• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1) - Eagle (Paperback)
  • Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1) - Eagle (Paperback)
zoom

Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1) - Eagle (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 07/08/2008
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

UNDER THE EAGLE is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling EAGLES OF THE EMPIRE series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times

AD 42, Germany. Tough, brutal and unforgiving. That's how new recruit Cato is finding life in the Roman Second Legion. He may have contacts in high places, but he could really use a friend amongst his fellow soldiers right now.

Cato has been promoted above his comrades at the order of the Emperor and is deeply resented by the other men. But he quickly earns the respect of his Centurion, Macro, a battle-hardened veteran as rough and ready as Cato is quick-witted and well-educated. They are poles apart, but soon realise they have a lot to learn from one another.

On a campaign to Britannia - a land of utter barbarity - an enduring friendship begins. But as they undertake a special mission to thwart a conspiracy against the Emperor they rapidly find themselves in a desperate fight to survive...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755349708
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 319 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Simon Scarrow: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' -- Bernard Cornwell
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
Gripping... ferocious and compelling, it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice * Daily Express *
Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday *
[Simon Scarrow] blends together historical facts and characters to create a book that simply cannot be put down... Highly recommended * Historical Novels Review *

You may also be interested in...

Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Child of All Nations
Added to basket
Less
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Home Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beautiful Summer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Don't Let Go
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Music Shop
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartburn
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Manhattan Beach
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dreams of Bethany Mellmoth
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Coming Home to Island House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“absoulutly epic, just love it!!!”

This book is the beginning of a epic journey between a young recruit in the roman legion and a veteren soldier fighting side by side along with the the second legion of the augusta.This book shows that simon scarrow... More

Paperback edition
4th June 2010
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Excellent opening to a great series”

I bought this book with no prior knowledge of the author or the series and with 2 months I'd read them all. The opening novel introduces Cato and Macro; Cato a young lad from the Imperial Palace, who despite a... More

Paperback edition
15th June 2013
Helpful? Upvote 25

“A very enjoyable and exciting book”

This a well researched book with a lot off action through out the book. It involves 2 main characters, 1 is centurian who has been in the army for a while and the other is young lad who has just been made optio (his... More

Paperback edition
24th March 2011
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.