Under Fortunate Stars (Paperback)
  • Under Fortunate Stars (Paperback)
zoom

Under Fortunate Stars (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 09/05/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Two Ships. One Chance To Save The Future.

Fleeing the final days of the generations-long war with the alien Felen, smuggler Jereth Keeven's freighter the Jonah breaks down in a strange rift in deep space, with little chance of rescue-until they encounter the research vessel Gallion, which claims to be from 152 years in the future.

The Gallion's chief engineer Uma Ozakka has always been fascinated with the past, especially the tale of the Fortunate Five, who ended the war with the Felen. When the Gallion rescues a run-down junk freighter, Ozakka is shocked to recognize the Five's legendary ship-and the Five's famed leader, Eldric Leesongronski, among the crew.

But nothing else about Leesongronski and his crewmates seems to match up with the historical record. With their ships running out of power in the rift, more than the lives of both crews may be at stake...

Publisher: Rebellion Publishing Ltd.
ISBN: 9781786185938
Number of pages: 480
Dimensions: 198 x 128 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Questions of fate, predetermination and stepping into history are cleverly wrapped in an engrossing time travel tale." -- Paul Simpson, Sci-Fi Bulletin

"Hutchings lovingly fuses a sprawling cast of charmingly flawed characters and a plot with many moving parts into a smooth and satisfying whole." -- Publishers Weekly

“An engaging space saga with time-travel twists, and a compelling look at how past and future are created by not only by those who live it but those who record it.” -- Library Journal (Starred Review) - Library Journal

“An engrossing interstellar escapade with appeal for fans of Becky Chambers, Alex White, and S.K. Dunstall.” -- Booklist - Booklist

Library Journal Debut of the Month - Library Journal

‘A deeply human book’ -- Locus - Locus

“Ren Hutchings has earned comparisons to Becky Chambers, Alex White, and S.K. Dunstall” -- Den of Geek - Den of Geek

You may also be interested in...

The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dark Matter
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Translation State
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Book That Wouldn’t Burn
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Children Of Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Dark Forest
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Added to basket
Project Hail Mary
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Death's End
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
This is How You Lose the Time War
Added to basket
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Red Rising
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Great Story, Great Characters”

I really enjoyed this character-driven tale of the meeting between the crews of a freighter, the Jonah, and a research vessel, Gallion. Both ships pulled into a time rift in space. The Gallion is from 152 years in the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Great for fans of Becky Chambers”

I loved this! Great for fans of Becky Chambers. It's not a perfect novel but really impressive for a debut and I'm sure to keep an eye on future work from Ren Hutchings.

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A wonderfully satisfying time travel tale with an engaging space opera backdrop!”

Under Fortunate Stars is my favourite read of the year so far!I came running for the accidental time travel – I mean it’s one of my absolute favourite tropes – and found myself absolutely enthralled by this hopeful... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: