Under Attack - Home Front Detective (Paperback)
  • Under Attack - Home Front Detective (Paperback)
zoom

Under Attack - Home Front Detective (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 23/08/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
June, 1917. While German Gotha bombers raid London from above, a man's body is fished from the Thames below. The man had been garrotted and his tongue cut out before he was left to his watery grave, and as the killer has taken care to remove identifying items and even labels, Detective Inspector Marmion and Sergeant Keedy struggle to name the victim before they can begin properly with their investigation. As family and business associates are found, the list of suspects grows ever longer, and as Marmion wrangles with the case, he and his family must also contend with their anxieties for his now-missing son Paul. The interminable presence of war and, closer to home, pitched battles in the East End between rival adolescent gangs, suggest the Home Front is more insecure than ever before. With great care, Marmion must pick his way along a twisting path that will lead him towards the killer.

Publisher: Allison & Busby
ISBN: 9780749022006
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
`Once again, Edward Marston provides an intriguing mystery and a wonderfully detailed picture of life during the Great War ... Marston manages to provide a snapshot of life at all levels of society ... Marston deftly reveals his characters' motivations and growths ... A clever and intriguing read from an ever-popular author. Perfect for fans of Christopher Fowler and Anne Perry.' Historical Novel Society

You may also be interested in...

The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Revelation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Smoke and Ashes
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The American Agent
Added to basket
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Murder of Harriet Monckton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ghost Tree
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Fear on the Phantom Special
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
The Wolf and the Watchman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.