Turtle Boy (Paperback)
  • Turtle Boy (Paperback)
  • Turtle Boy (Paperback)
zoom
Turtle Boy (Paperback)

Turtle Boy (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99 £6.49
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 06/08/2020
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A tender-hearted, funny and emotionally generous novel of difference, tolerance and personal courage, Wolkenstein’s luminous debut features two boys determined to overcome the challenges that life has thrown their way. Perfect for fans of Wonder, Turtle Boy is a warm and engrossing read. 

This is a powerful story of hope and friendship, perfect for fans of Wonder and The Goldfish Boy. Exploring self-image, family and grief, this book will make you laugh and cry. Meet Will Levine. Here are three things Will loves: turtles, the nature reserve behind school, being left alone. And one thing Will really hates: his nickname. Kids at school call Will Turtle Boy because of his funny-looking chin. But when Will meets RJ, he learns not everyone is his enemy. RJ has a bucket list of adventures which extends way beyond his hospital room, and he needs help ticking them off. Will may want to stay in his shell, but RJ is determined to push him right out of it. And for Will to take on what seems like an impossible mission, he's going to have to be brave in more ways than one. 'In an image-based world where appearance can feel as if it's everything, Turtle Boy is a gentle reminder that it absolutely is not' Onjali Q. Rauf, author of The Boy at the Back of the Class

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474981385
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
In an image-based world where appearance can feel as if it's everything, Turtle Boy is a gentle reminder that it absolutely is not. * Onjali Q. Rauf, author of The Boy at the Back of the Class *
A big-hearted, hope-filled debut. * The Bookseller *
A gripping and genuinely moving coming-of-age story... * Irish Times *
A wonderful, funny, sad and profound story. * BookTrust *
[A] marvellous coming-of-age story. * Image *

You may also be interested in...

Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
The Witches
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Butterfly Lion
Added to basket
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Good Thieves
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Night Bus Hero
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School (Book 10)
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“The best children's book of 2020”

This is absolutely one of the best children's books of 2020 and in fact one of the beast children's books i have read in the last two years.

Since R. J. Palacio smash hit 'Wonder' was published... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“An Excellent Read”

This book tells the story of Will who has a facial difference which has earned him the name Turtle Boy. As part of his Bar Mitzvah preparations he has to do community service and the Rabbi has paired him with RJ, a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
MakexBelieve

“Heartwarming story of a young boy's journey out of his shell”

Turtle Boy is the heartwarming story of a young boy's journey out of his shell, which will appeal to fans of Wonder. Will is an anxious boy who prefers the company of turtles to people his own age. He freezes up... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.