Trying: the hilarious novel about what to expect when you're NOT expecting (Hardback)
  • Trying: the hilarious novel about what to expect when you're NOT expecting (Hardback)
zoom

Trying: the hilarious novel about what to expect when you're NOT expecting (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 25/01/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

From the 'Marian Keyes of the social media age' comes Trying, a hilarious novel about what to expect when you're not expecting


'Brilliant' Stylist
'Funny, bittersweet and touching . . . I couldn't put it down!' Marian Keyes

*********

Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby?

A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

*********
More praise for Trying:
'A tender and funny story' Prima
'Warm and brilliant' Lucy Vine, author of Hot Mess
'A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473663800
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I've just finished, I couldn't put it down! God, it's powerful, it brought up so many feelings in me. Emily Phillips writes so well, so funny and relatable. Also she writes about love BEAUTIFULLY . . . Funny, bittersweet and touching, this book will resonate with anyone who is 'trying' -- Marian Keyes, author of THE BREAK
Hilarious, heartbreaking, truthful and bold -- Dolly Alderton, author of EVERYTHING I KNOW ABOUT LOVE
Side-splittingly relatable -- Bryony Gordon, author of MAD GIRL and EAT RUN DRINK
Funny and warm and brilliant -- Lucy Vine, author of HOT MESS
Read it - think Marian Keyes for the social media age * Sunday Telegraph *
Funny, honest and thought-provoking. ***** * Heat Magazine *
A tender and funny story * Prima *
Hilarious and relatable . . . A warm and funny book * Grazia *
An irreverently funny book that will resonate with anyone who's ever been trying * Red Magazine *
A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour. An assured debut from Emily Phillips. -- Louise O'Neill, author of ALMOST LOVE and ONLY EVER YOURS
A moving but funny read * Closer Magazine *
A brilliant read * Stylist *
A funny but uplifting novel * Daily Mirror *
TRYING is a wonderfully funny novel about a young women who is "trying" in all aspects of her life. Not only is she trying to climb the ladder at work but she is also hoping to start a new family. This book is relatable and incredibly heartwarming as you see Olivia struggle through the big life questions that we all fear * Yorkshire Evening Post *
Captures that painful, haywire feeling of wanting something so badly and the all-consuming nature of trying but not getting. -- Helen Russell
A funny, complex debut * Emerald Street *
Moving * Bella Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Writers & Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Redhead by the Side of the Road
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bookread2day

“Loved it ”

This story is exactly as it says on the front cover. It's funny, bittersweet and touching. Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. Olivia is trying to keep her marriage alive and suggest that maybe they should... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.