Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality (Hardback)
  • Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality (Hardback)
zoom

Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 08/03/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Macdonald zeros in on the slipperiness of factuality, offering an array of case studies from the worlds of history, commerce and - of course - politics.' New York Times Book Review For fans of Nudge, Black Box Thinking and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which `competing truths' shape our opinions, behaviours and beliefs. True or false? It's rarely that simple. There is more than one truth about most things. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. As communicators, we select the truths that are most useful to our agenda. We can select truths constructively to inspire organisations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but can also be highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill. Hector Macdonald here explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780593079324
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 605 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Macdonald zeros in on the slipperiness of factuality, offering an array of case studies from the worlds of history, commerce and - of course - politics." * New York Times Book Review *
"The merit of Hector Macdonald's Truth is precisely that it forces us to remember how few claims can be definitively established as beyond dispute" * Washington Post *
"Illuminating, judicious and lucid ... It will surely change the way you read the news and see the world." -- Patrick West * Catholic Herald *
"In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information." * Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of ORIGINALS and OPTION B with Sheryl Sandberg *
"Delightful... beautifully explores the truth that truth can look very different to different people." -- Matt Ridley, author of Genome and The Red Queen
"No one can tell the whole truth in all its glory. Hector Macdonald's Truth explores how communicators spin reality, whether in the name of clarity or skullduggery. Macdonald is a deft guide to a topic that could not be more timely." -- William Poundstone, author of Are You Smart Enough to Work at Google?
"Engrossing" -- Caroline Sanderson * The Bookseller *
"With the phrase `fake news' dominating the conversation in 2017, Hector Macdonald's Truth feels like timely reading. Drawing from examples including the infamous Brexit bus and the way the Texas Department of State Health Services spread misinformation to pregnant women, the author asks whether it is ever morally acceptable for marketers to lie? It also looks at how consumers can protect themselves from misleading truths." * Marketing Week - Recommended Reading *
"As an expert on choice, I've long believed that our choices define who we are. This book explores the ways in which the decision to tell the truth is a choice that uniquely shapes who we are. While it's easy to assume that the act of lying is more complicated one than telling the truth, the choice to tell the truth can be equally, if not far more complex.This book is not simply about telling the truth, but rather a guide to navigate the tough decisions that lead to truth." -- Sheena Iyengar, author of The Art of Choosing
"An engaging primer in critical thinking, Truth will enable you to defend yourself against fake news, from bots on Twitter to loudmouths on cable television. Read the book attentively and from then on you'll be carrying the most important concealed weapon of all: an informed mind." -- Peter Robinson, former White House speechwriter

You may also be interested in...

Rest
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
How to Win Friends and Influence People
Added to basket
Mindset - Updated Edition
Added to basket
Black Box Thinking
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Life Honestly
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
You Are a Badass
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Factfulness
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
Added to basket
£17.99   £13.49
Hardback
Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ikigai
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Women Who Run With The Wolves
Added to basket
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying
Added to basket
£12.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Ten Types of Human
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Mindfulness
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A Fascinating Read”

I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy of this in exchange for an honest review, and it is a genuinely fascinating book.

Hector Macdonald takes us on a tour of the truth, and the way that differing truths can... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
28th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.