Troublemakers (Paperback)
  • Troublemakers (Paperback)
zoom

Troublemakers (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/06/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2018

Described by the Guardian as 'A thought-provoking, richly layered YA novel about politics, love, grief and coming of age' Troublemakers brings together contemporary social issues with a moving story of growing up and learning how to navigate family loyalty and personal belief.

In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London.

Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.

Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician.

As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

British author Catherine Barter's career as a writer began when she won the 2014 Bath Novel Award. When not writing, she is the co-manager of the radical London bookshop Housmans. Troublemakers is her first novel.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783445240
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 305 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A thought-provoking, richly layered YA novel about politics, love, grief and coming of age.' - Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

'A touching, truthful depiction of an unconventional family life... written before London's current summer of discontent but captures the effect of a constant climate of unease on young people and the permanently anxious adults who care for them.' - Geraldine Brennan, Observer

'A clever, thoughtful novel with a wonderfully realistic main character' - Sarah Webb, Irish Independent

'It's refreshing to see a contemporary YA novel that focuses so much on family and politics and allows its heroine to escape the narrative without a boyfriend in tow' - Claire Hennessy, Irish Times

'Family tensions and uncertainty are contrasted against the current political situation in this excellent novel' - Marilyn Brocklehurst, Guardian, The Best New Children's Books supplement

'I loved it, so much so that as soon as I finished I started reading it again. Completely brilliant' - Keren David, author of Salvage

'I couldn't put Troublemakers down. It's a real page-turner, with utterly believable characters who are all trying to do their best. Barter is a fresh, exciting new voice, and I can't wait to see what she does next.' - Susin Nielsen

'I think it's really brilliant and I absolutely loved it - the voice is terrific. I hope it's loved as much as Jenny Downham's Unbecoming.' - Aoife Walsh, author of Too Close To Home

'A sparky and timely coming-of-age tale about politics, activism & morality' -  Katherine Woodfine

'One of the most woke YA novels EVER and will quickly make you question your own political knowledge and outspokenness' - Maximum Pop! Books

'Politics and the personal combine in a thoughtful, well-told and moving story' - Andrea Reece, Lovereading4Kids

'Intelligent and thought-provoking, this is an absorbing novel, and a highly impressive debut.' - Books for Keeps 

2018 CHRISTMAS BOOK FESITVAL

2018 CHRISTMAS BOOK FESITVAL

London - Finchley Road O2 Centre
Sunday 25th November 11:00 - 17:00

COME TO THE 2018 WATERSTONES FINCHLEY ROAD CHRISTMAS BOOK FESITVAL on SUNDAY 25TH NOVEMBER 2018 13 AUTHORS & ILLUSTRATORS SIGNING & DEDICATING COPIES OF THEIR TITLES SUPERB GIFTS FOR CHRISTMAS!

View

You may also be interested in...

The Knife of Never Letting Go
Added to basket
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
That's Not What Happened
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Darkest Minds Novel: Never Fade
Added to basket
City of Ghosts
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
All These Beautiful Strangers
Added to basket
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Leah on the Offbeat
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Trouble with Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?
Added to basket
To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Surprising”

When I received this book I thought I had an idea of what it would be about and how it would pan out.
I was totally wrong! This book is very engaging and you just want to keep on reading it even after the last page.... More

Paperback edition
2nd June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 24

“A magnificent read ”

Alena has never known her mum. When her brother starts working for a controversial politician and she starts to uncover her mum's activist life, she gets into the kind of trouble that changes everything.... More

Paperback edition
1st June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Powerful and Important”

I finished Troublemakers in a single day, it was hard to put it down between my breaks at work! I loved it - the voices are so strong, Alena's especially but the other characters as well - they're so real... More

Paperback edition
12th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.