Find your perfect holiday reading
Trilogy of Resistance (Paperback)
  • Trilogy of Resistance (Paperback)
zoom

Trilogy of Resistance (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£20.99
Paperback 168 Pages / Published: 15/02/2011
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
With Trilogy of Resistance, the political philosopher Antonio Negri extends his intervention in contemporary politics and culture into a new medium: drama. The three plays collected for the first time in this volume dramatize the central concepts of the innovative and influential thought he has articulated in his best-selling books Empire and Multitude, coauthored with Michael Hardt. In the tradition of Bertolt Brecht and Heiner Muller, Negri's political dramas are designed to provoke debate around the fundamental questions they raise about resistance, violence, and tyranny. In Swarm, the protagonist searches for an effective mode of activism; with the help of a Greek-style chorus, she tries on different roles, from the suicide bomber and party apparatchik to the multitude. The Bent Man, set in fascist Italy, focuses on a woodcutter who resists fascism by bending himself in two and using his own now-twisted body as a weapon against war. In Cithaeron, perhaps the most audacious of the three plays, Negri reworks Euripides's Bacchae to explore the circumstances that would compel a diverse and creative community to withdraw from both the despotic government that constrains it and the traditional family relationships that reinforce that despotism.First published in France in 2009 and featuring an introduction by Negri, Trilogy of Resistance provides a direct and passionate distillation of Negri's concepts and offers insights into one of the most important projects in political philosophy currently under way, as well as a timely reminder of the power of theater to effectively dramatize complex and challenging ideas.

Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
ISBN: 9780816672943
Number of pages: 168
Weight: 218 g
Dimensions: 216 x 140 x 10 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Trilogy of Resistance is fascinating. These plays advance Antonio Negri's philosophical and political project, one of the few genuine adventures in contemporary radical thought. In their language and conception they belong to the main trajectory of Negri's work, yet they also swerve away in surprising directions, gathering echoes from ancient and modern literature to give theory a new voice. It is a book full of affective power, conceptual daring, and political courage." -Richard Dienst, Rutgers University

You may also be interested in...

All My Sons
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Talking Heads
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Crucible
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
DNA (School Edition)
Added to basket
The Duchess of Malfi
Added to basket
Othello
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Added to basket
Romeo and Juliet
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Hamlet
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Twelfth Night
Added to basket
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
Added to basket
The Glass Menagerie
Added to basket
Richard III
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Three Theban Plays
Added to basket
The Merchant of Venice
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.