Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Treating the New Anxiety: A Cognitive-Theological Approach (Paperback)
  • Treating the New Anxiety: A Cognitive-Theological Approach (Paperback)
zoom

Treating the New Anxiety: A Cognitive-Theological Approach (Paperback)

(author)
£24.95
Paperback 160 Pages / Published: 16/09/2007
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
The post-9/11 age of supermodernity is characterized by an intensification of collective anxiety about the present and future state of the nation and the world. Our psychological and spiritual capacities are pushed to their limits. Through a cognitive-theological approach to the treatment of this intensified anxiety, Kirk Bingaman demonstrates that it is possible and indeed necessary to help those in our care to live meaningfully even in a time of great change and uncertainty.

Publisher: Jason Aronson Inc. Publishers
ISBN: 9780765704634
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 227 x 153 x 13 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
In the tradition of Erich Fromm and Rollo May, Kirk Bingaman addresses the psychological and social implications of anxiety. But Bingaman adds a new twist, namely the relevance of theology to address the "new anxiety" of our post-9/11 era. This important book demonstrates that a formative and fruitful integration is possible between theology and therapy, and underscores the necessity, in a "supermodern," post-9/11 world, for such an integration in treating anxiety. -- Rev. Kevin Gillespie, S.J., Ph.D., associate professor of Pastoral Counseling, Loyola College, Maryland
This is one of the few works on cognitive therapy that focuses on our deepest core belief-the cognitive foundation of our hopes and fears that provides purpose and meaning to our lives. Dr. Bingaman enters this realm where mental health practitioners have traditionally feared to tread. Therapists will gain important insight by reading this book. -- Rian E. McMullin, Ph.D., one of the founders of Cognitive Restructuring Therapy; author, The New Handbook of Cognitive Therapy and Taking Out Your Mental
[Bingaman] paints a clear and recognizable portrait of the non-places we inhabit and our intense need to make meaning of the events that flood our lives. His argument and case studies are compelling....Bingaman builds a strong case. * Journal of Pastoral Theology, Fall 2007 *
Kirk Bingaman provides compelling evidence that we confront a "new anxiety"-one in which many of our worries, anxieties, and fears are not disproportionate to the threats that confront us. He draws on cognitive behavioral therapy to address this new anxiety, but rather than the traditional emphasis on the client's irrational beliefs, he advocates an emphasis on the client's core beliefs-beliefs that heretofore have provided inadequate, even unsettling, answers to the fundamental question: Where is God? For those who seek expert guidance on how to assist clients in developing core beliefs that effectively address the new anxiety, this book is a godsend. It could not have come at a more opportune moment. -- Donald Capps

You may also be interested in...

It's All in Your Head
Added to basket
The Silent Guides
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The River of Consciousness
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Science of Meditation
Added to basket
Blueprint
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Why We Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Other Minds
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Be Human
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Behave
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Body Keeps the Score
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Examined Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Have You Eaten Grandma?
Added to basket
Schadenfreude
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The 4 Pillar Plan
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.