Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
Treachery - Giordano Bruno 4 (Paperback)
  • Treachery - Giordano Bruno 4 (Paperback)
zoom

Treachery - Giordano Bruno 4 (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 14/08/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.

August, 1585. England is on the brink of war...

Sir Francis Drake is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish when a murder aboard his ship changes everything.

A relentless enemy. A treacherous conspiracy.

Giordano Bruno agrees to hunt the killer down, only to find that more than one deadly plot is brewing in Plymouth's murky underworld. And as he tracks a murderer through its dangerous streets, he uncovers a conspiracy that threatens the future of England itself.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007481224
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 420 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for TREACHERY:

* `Hugely enjoyable... It's played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there's just enough "proper" history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side' Guardian

* `With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, TREACHERY confirms Parris's growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers' Sunday Times

* `An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what's not to like? Gripping and fun' Observer

* `Parris's Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent and blessedly free of some of the genre's more egregious cliches. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home' Telegraph

* `There are echoes of CJ Sansom's Shardlake series here. But Parris is better than the usual run of imitators. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming' The Times

Praise for S. J. Parris:

* `Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins' Daily Telegraph

* `It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse

* `Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please' The Times

* `Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security' TLS

* `Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden

* `A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

You may also be interested in...

The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Revelation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Winter in Madrid
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Fire Court
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pandora's Boy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Ghost Tree
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“Port of Plymouth Comes Alive Under Parris's Pen”

It is August 1585 and Sir Francis Drake is ready to set sail from Plymouth. On the eve of his voyage, though, the body of an officer – Robert Dunne – is found dead in his cabin on board Drake’s flagship, the... More

Paperback edition
12th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 83

“As good as always”

A highly enjoyable Elizabethan murder mystery/thriller.
Full of the usual twists and turns including the lost and found fantastic book that is the theme of this series. A fantastic holiday read.
Perfect for fans of... More

Hardback edition
10th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Avast behind!”

Chunky but fast-paced (think James Corden, dancing), this 400+ page historical romp is, as other reviewers have said, enjoyable whether you are a Parris first-timer or already a fan of Dr Bruno. My only criticism:... More

Hardback edition
1st March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.