Toxic: A rainforest adventure that might just be deadly. (Paperback)
  • Toxic: A rainforest adventure that might just be deadly. (Paperback)
zoom

Toxic: A rainforest adventure that might just be deadly. (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £7.99
£6.49
Save £1.50 (19%)
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 01/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

It's a rainforest race against time to rescue a frog with the secret to eternal youth from the clutches of an avaricious beauty mogul in this gripping adventure from the author of Kick.

Hidden in the heart of the rainforest lies a secret... can three friends survive long enough to find it? An action-packed jungle adventure, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell's The Explorer and M.G. Leonard's Twitch.

Billionaire beauty mogul Anura Hegarty has pledged to acquire as much of the rainforest as possible to preserve it. But when armed guards appear and bring in portable terrariums to capture wildlife, Jessica and her friend Renata realise something much more sinister is going on.

The rainforest holds a frog with a secret to staying young forever, and Jessica and Renata know they must find and save it first! Together with Briony-Rose, the girls journey deeper into the rainforest.

Danger and betrayal lurk in every corner, and soon they're running for their lives, dodging blow darts and falling into traps. Will the children make it out of the forest alive?

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510111929
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 200 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An unputdownable adventure with heroes just as fierce as their adversaries. An original and dynamic story flooded with Mitch Johnson's signature wit and passion for the natural world. I absolutely loved it. - Tamsin Winter, author of Jemima Small Versus the Universe

I raced through Toxic and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful cast of characters, rainforest jeopardy and especially the tiny frog with a BIG secret. - Ele Fountain, author of Boy 87 and Fake

Fizzes with adventure and great characters who pop from the page. - Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of Cogheart

I read it all in one gulp! - Ross Welford, bestselling author of Time Travelling with a Hamster

A bonkers Willy-Wonka nightmare designed to get children thinking about the effects of everything they buy. - Ross Montgomery, bestselling author of The Midnight Guardians

A zany adventure that will make you bubble with laughter and fizz with indignation on behalf of our planet. - Maria Kuzniar, bestselling author of The Ship of Shadows

An exploding soda geyser of a book - an adventure story that will make you laugh, make you angry and make you want to do something to fix this crazy, messed up world. - Charlie Higson, bestselling author of Young Bond and The Enemy

Pop! is an explosive and unforgettable adventure with defiant heroes, devious villains, deadly corporate secrets all told with Johnson's brilliant humour. I loved it. - Tamsin Winter, bestselling author of Jemima Small Versus the Universe

You may also be interested in...

Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
Cluedle - The Case of the Dumpleton Diamond
Added to basket
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)
Added to basket
The World’s Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Clockwork Conspiracy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Tree-mendously Frog-tastic!”

I managed to get my hands on an early copy of this and it was by far the best book I read last year. I love Mitch’s work but this has really taken the cake. Such a fun adventure but with really deep important messages... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Rainforest race against time!”

Jessica is used to moving regularly and travelling with her parents, who are frog researchers. At a research station in the amazon, she hears of a hidden secret that a powerful billionaire will do anything to get... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Rainforest Rollercoaster Ride”

An adventure set in a rainforest...what a great setting for a story!

Toxic by Mitch Johnson opens with the main character, Jessica, moving to a research facility in the Amazon rainforest where her parents are... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: