Too Close to Home (Paperback)
  • Too Close to Home (Paperback)
zoom

Too Close to Home (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 02/07/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Meet Minny: her life is a complicated whirlwind of unbearable PE lessons, annoying friends and impossible-to-live-with siblings. Minny is desperate for some space in a house spilling over with family and hangers-on. She has to contend with her autistic sister Aisling's school bullies, whilst trying to keep her self-absorbed BFF Penny happy, and look normal in front of new boy Franklin. And on top of this, now Dad has announced that he's returning to London - with his new girlfriend. Secrets, lies and home truths will out, frying pans will be burnt, and arguments will flare up in a story full of humour, honesty and minor household emergencies.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783443000
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 307 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"One for the "I write this sitting in the kitchen sink" crowd. Like eating a big authorial cake and finding it full of Streatfeild and McKay and Smith. It's rich, vivid and rather timeless. Contemporary yet classic. Classic yet contemporary." * Did You Ever Stop To Think Blog (LH 'Daisy' Johnson) *
"Dialogue-driven family drama written in an engaging, authentic voice. Tons of insight and good humour." * The Scotsman, Jasmine Fassl *
"Wonderfully authentic family drama, funny and complicated as real life relationships are. It has a classic feel to it. Make it top of your to-read list this summer." * Scottish Book Trust *
"Warm, believable portrait of family life. Witty and moving read." * Children's Books Ireland *
"An intelligent gathering of complex issues involving real characters. Written with great sensitivity, I highly recommend for fans of David Levithan or Mark Haddon." * Waterstones Oxford *
"Warm, convincing portrait of a family facing all sorts of difficulties. A contemporary version of Little Women. Walsh does an excellent job." * Lovereading *
"Aoife Walsh describes the intricacies of a modern family which is facing a wide variety of challenges in beautiful detail." * Booktrust *
"A good family story, which encompasses complex issues (including autism, fostering, divorce and drugs) with a deft touch, and very real, funny dialogue." * The School Librarian *
"Walsh's fictional family loom so large in the mind that it's hard to believe they don't really exist. You'll want to remain in their house for far longer than the book. A thoroughly enjoyable read" * Minerva Reads blog *

You may also be interested in...

Eve of Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nought Forever
Added to basket
£1.00
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
Gone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
The Knife of Never Letting Go
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Truth About Keeping Secrets
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Scar (Ink Trilogy Book 3)
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume One
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Hux - Blogger, @littlehux

“A beautiful, jam-packed family saga ”

Too Close to Home is a captivating family saga, as jam-packed with characters as Minny’s home is.

Minny is a fourteen year old girl living in her Babička’s house with her three siblings Aisling, Selaena and Raymond,... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Great slice of life/drama for teen and beyond.”

An intelligent gathering of complex issues involving real characters.

Walsh's tone for believeable opinions of each character is refreshing, especially from an English POV, where school life is concerned.... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.