Tomorrow: The spellbinding historical tale for readers who love The Night Circus and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock (Paperback)
  • Tomorrow: The spellbinding historical tale for readers who love The Night Circus and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock (Paperback)
zoom

Tomorrow: The spellbinding historical tale for readers who love The Night Circus and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again' Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse

A spellbinding and beautifully written story of courage and devotion, for fans of historical and magical fiction like The Night Circus, The Binding and The Girl in the Tower.
________________

Valentyne has lived many lives - physician, philosopher, soldier - but his defining work has been his ability to stop the clock. He has lived for centuries, as has his dog, Tomorrow.

Inseparable, they've voyaged across Europe, using their time wisely. They've attended royalty in a dozen courts, healed soldiers on a hundred battlefields, and met with the greatest minds of the Renaissance. Until one day, in watery Venice, Valentyne vanishes without trace.

Broken-hearted, Tomorrow begins a search that will endure for centuries. But as the continent collapses into war, he must risk everything to find his master - or lose him forever.
____________

'Moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning' Rachel Joyce, bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

'Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope' London Evening Standard

'Golden age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I. Travel with a unique companion & bask in the brilliance' Mail on Sunday

'A tale of love and unbreakable bonds' New York Post

'Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read!' Seth Meyers

'Original, ambitious, moving' Stylist

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405925785
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Golden age Amsterdam, Versailles, the court of Charles I - it's armchair travel with a unique companion * The Mail on Sunday *
Original, ambitious, moving * Stylist *
A stunning and captivating tale * The Sun *
My heart swelled with FEELINGS! -- Sarra Manning
Ornate, vivid, deeply coloured, and so precise I could smell and taste the world . . . the story of a dog crossing continents and centuries in search of the man he loves is moving and tender. I was captivated by its charm from the beginning -- Rachel Joyce * Sunday Times bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry *
It's a rich and complex tale, beautifully told. Historic detail and dog-like thinking are vividly conveyed, carrying the reader along. It is a joy to read. It raises deep questions about what it means to be human * Sussex Life *
A tale of love and unbreakable bonds * New York Post *
A grand sweep of adventure and travel, war and romance, and a rich exploration of love, life and loyalty * National Public Radio *
Dog lovers will want to have this heartbreaking, century spanning novel for their next discovery * Entertainment Weekly *
Beautiful. Rich in perseverance, love and the sweetness of life * Kirkus Reviews *
A lyrical commentary on war, rivalry, sacrifice, and above all else, loyalty * Publishers Weekly *
Timeless. Humanity's foibles and failings are on full display. This soulful debut is a charmer * Booklist *
With a hint of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Tomorrow confronts big questions about life's purpose and celebrates life's pleasures * Bookpage *
Damian Dibben's novel is guaranteed to make you shed a tear . . . sure to appeal to readers who enjoy fiction embedded in history * Heart *
The story of a dog that doesn't die, of the wonders he'd seen, and the horrors, who lost his master a hundred years ago and has been searching for him ever since, Tomorrow is an epic tale of love, of courage, of hope * London Evening Standard *
What a novel! Ambitious and wonderfully achieved. A book to read again and again * Michael Morpurgo, bestselling author of War Horse *
Definitely - HIGHLY - worth the read! * Seth Meyers *

You may also be interested in...

Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
Pure
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Outstanding! Loved it, now buying for best friend...”

An outstanding, intensely moving saga sweeping through the eras of The Renaissance, English Civil War to Napoleonic Europe and end at the period of the Industrial Revolution. This is a book which doesn’t fit into a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
Rob

“Colourful bawdy and bold!”

The word "Tomorrow" actually refers to the name of the dog in this story, who throughout the book is searching for his master "Vallentyne" a physician by occupation. As the story covers many many... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Wonderful read”

I found the telling through the eyes and senses of a dog over its 217 year life beautifully crated and it made an even more compelling observation of behaviours, compulsions, loves, and follies. You are with him... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.