The Testaments out now
Today: A History of our World through 60 years of Conversations & Controversies (Hardback)
  • Today: A History of our World through 60 years of Conversations & Controversies (Hardback)

Today: A History of our World through 60 years of Conversations & Controversies (Hardback)

Hardback 512 Pages / Published: 05/09/2019
  • In stock online
  • Free UK delivery

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Today is the sound of history being made - live on air.

In an era of fake news, echo chambers and new fault lines in global politics, millions of listeners turn to BBC Radio 4's Today programme each morning to help them make sense of the world around them.

The first ever book from the iconic programme marks six decades of BBC Radio 4's Today programme with sixty world changing stories as they were broadcast. Covering war, rebellion and political transformation, to significant changes in culture, society, and the scientific world, the book explores events as they happened, and how they changed the world around us.

From the fall of the Berlin Wall and the anti-apartheid movement to 9/11 and the Rise of Islamic State, from the Rushdie affair to the emergence of Brit Art and from space exploration to the tomorrow's world of artificial intelligence and machine learning. Key figures within the book include Harold Wilson, Margaret Thatcher, Stephen Hawking, Tracey Emin and Barack Obama.

Chapters include:
Chapter 1: Rebellion, Revolution and Protest
Chapter 2: Britain's Political Landscape
Chapter 3: War, Conflict and Security
Chapter 4: Art, Culture and Sport
Chapter 5: Social Change
Chapter 6: The Natural World, Science and Technology

Also available in Audio and Ebook.

Edited by Edward Stourton
Forewords by Nick Robinson & Martha Kearney
With an introduction by Sarah Sands, editor of the Today programme.

Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781788400374
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 1000 g
Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 48 mm

You may also be interested in...

Small Man in a Book
Added to basket
The Kenneth Williams Diaries
Added to basket
Cabin Pressure: The Complete Series 3
Added to basket
Margrave Of The Marshes
Added to basket
Dad's Army: Complete Radio Series Two
Added to basket
Going to Sea in a Sieve
Added to basket
It's Not What You Think
Added to basket
Squeezing the Orange
Added to basket
And Now The Shipping Forecast
Added to basket
Going Off Alarming
Added to basket
Writing for TV and Radio
Added to basket
EKCO Sounds
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.