Timothy's Book: Notes Of An English Country Tortoise (Paperback)
  • Timothy's Book: Notes Of An English Country Tortoise (Paperback)
zoom

Timothy's Book: Notes Of An English Country Tortoise (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 14/06/2007
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Timothy, a wise and eloquent tortoise, has spent some fifty years among humans, living in their midst in the lovely Hampshire village of Selborne, the occasional object of study for his host, Gilbert White, whose letters famously comprise The Natural History of Selborne. But Timothy is inclined to study too. His observations of the natural world that surrounds him can match those of his master for aptness, precision, illumination and beauty - his gaze falls with equal aplomb on the flitting martins and swallows, trooping frogs, mating harvest mice, hares nibbling at the cabbage and, above all, on those 'tottering, stilt-gaited beasts', their instincts so derelict, who tower over Timothy and make their odd ways known to him. Who would guess that a tortoise marooned in the heart of old England could tell us so much? This is a wise, severe and unforgettable old tortoise's own short history of humanity. It is perfect for the Telegraph-to-Attenborough readership, for twitchers, ramblers and National Trusters, for readers of Richard Mabey's Nature Cure and Richard Benson's The Farm, Horatio Clare and The Lore of the Land.

Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781846270550
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 181 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 14 mm

You may also be interested in...

Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Weekend
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.