Three Words for Goodbye: A Novel (Paperback)
  • Three Words for Goodbye: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

Three Words for Goodbye: A Novel (Paperback)

(author), (author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/09/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the bestselling authors of Meet Me in Monaco, comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.


Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past . . .

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they agree to fulfill her last wish: to travel across Europe-together. They are to deliver three letters, in which Violet will say goodbye to those she hasn't seen since traveling to Europe forty years earlier; a journey inspired by famed reporter, Nellie Bly.

Clara, ever-dutiful, sees the trip as an inconvenient detour before her wedding to millionaire Charles Hancock, but it's also a chance to embrace her love of art. Budding journalist Madeleine relishes the opportunity to develop her ambitions to report on the growing threat of Hitler's Nazi party and Mussolini's control in Italy.

Constantly at odds with each other as they explore the luxurious Queen Mary, the Orient Express, and the sights of Paris and Venice,, Clara and Madeleine wonder if they can fulfil Violet's wish, until a shocking truth about their family brings them closer together. But as they reach Vienna to deliver the final letter, old grudges threaten their reconciliation again. As political tensions rise, and Europe feels increasingly volatile, the pair are glad to head home on the Hindenburg, where fate will play its hand in the final stage of their journey.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062965240
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 285 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Utterly delightful and the perfect escape. I loved being swept away to 1930s Paris, Venice, and Vienna alongside Maddie and Clara who, despite their differences, have come together to fulfill their dying grandmother's final wish...A heartwarming and wonderful story about the power of forgiveness and the unbreakable bond of sisters." -- Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret
"Vibrant and laced with fascinating historical references...this tale of the complicated love between sisters and the mending of fractured relationships will move you, entertain you, and maybe even inspire you to seek out a truer path of your own." -- Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names and The Forest of Vanishing Star
"Illuminating the importance of family and the power of forgiveness, Three Words for Goodbye beautifully renders the romance of France, Italy and Austria with picturesque streets and culinary delights...I couldn't stop turning the novel's pages until I'd reached the high-octane conclusion." -- Meredith Jaeger, USA Today bestselling author of The Dressmaker's Dowry
"What a treat! Three Words for Goodbye is an absorbing, escapist, uplifting read... Reading this novel is like reclining in a comfortable beach chair with warm sun on your skin and a glass of champagne at your elbow: you won't want it to end." -- Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
"The perfect escapist read, full of heart." -- Liz Fenwick, award-winning author of The Path to the Sea
"Three glorious locations, two different but equally engaging sisters, family secrets to uncover and hearts to be won and lost, plus one big, shocking finale, Three Words for Goodbye is the very best of immersive, escapist historical fiction. I loved it from the first page. " -- Liz Trenow, author of The Forgotten Seamstress
"Oh, how I adored this. I missed Clara and Madeleine every time I had to put the book down and felt like I was with them on their journey." -- Prima Magazine
"Charming historical fiction." -- Booklist
"Three Words for Goodbye takes us there: inside the cultural and class norms, the social pressures, the sense of duty and propriety, unrealized dreams, plus all the complexities that test and form relationships along the way: from sisterhood to family, courtship, engagement, friendship, even an encounter with a charming stranger." -- BookTrib
"The suspense of decisions to be made and secrets to be revealed are intensified as the sisters travel to each destination. In Three Words for Goodbye, the anticipation of what lies ahead for Clara and Maddy adds to this enriching, enjoyable journey." -- Historical Novels Review

You may also be interested in...

The Leopard
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Black Moth
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket

“An escape to travel the world in these pages”

Thanks to Goodreads and William Morrow/HarperCollins Publishers for an advance reader copy. All comments and opinions are my own.

The story begins with two sisters, formerly close but now as adults unable to get... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A wonderful historical novel of two sisters, a journey and many challenges”

Two sisters take a journey across Europe in 1937. It sounds sedate, especially as they take the most luxurious modes of transport available. However, this book is made vivid and very alive by their unpredictable and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.