Thorn - Dauntless Path (Paperback)
  • Thorn - Dauntless Path (Paperback)
zoom

Thorn - Dauntless Path (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages
Published: 24/03/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A dark, Middle-Eastern influenced retelling [...] dangerous secrets, false identities, delicious court intrigue and justice.' Culture Fly

Between her family's cruelty and the court's contempt, Princess Alyrra has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies - and now so does Alyrra.

When Alyrra is betrayed and her identity is switched with another woman's, Alyrra is faced with the first choice she's ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she's never met.

Sometimes the hardest thing of all is learning to trust yourself . . .

Inspired by The Goose Girl fairytale by the Brothers Grimm.

'THE BEST YA FANTASY BOOK I'VE READ THIS YEAR!' - neverjudgeabookbyitscover.co.uk

Read more Dauntless Path novels:

A THEFT OF SUNLIGHT - OUT NOW!
THE DARKNESS AT THE DOOR - COMING SOON . . .

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471408724
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 371 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A dark, Middle-Eastern influenced retelling about dangerous secrets, false identities, delicious court intrigue and justice. ... Perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn. - Culture Fly

I really enjoyed reading Alyrra's story which follows her as she grows in confidence and learns to trust in the courage of her convictions. - Mini Travellers

"This is how you survive: one breath to the next, refusing each thought as it comes to you. This is how you get through the worst of things." Khanani's retelling of "The Goose Girl" keeps the basics of the fairytale the same (a princess is sent to a kingdom to marry a prince but is betrayed and looses her title) but expands the story to include examinations of violence and its effects on main characters. It could be easy to dismiss Alyrra as just a weak and passive princess, but Khanani smartly delves into the realistic reactions and responses a person would have to trauma. - Book Riot

You may also be interested in...

Where the Dark Stands Still
Added to basket
The Eternal Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Compass and Blade
Added to basket
Twilight
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
All This Twisted Glory
Added to basket
Girl, Goddess, Queen
Added to basket
The Great Reindeer Rescue
Added to basket
A Cruel Twist of Fate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Prisoner's Throne
Added to basket
Crooked Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Infinity Alchemist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Coraline
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“One Princess. Two fates. An impossible choice.”

This fantasy novel is a tale inspired by The Goose Girl, a classic Brothers Grimm Fairy tale and it is tastefully done with a lot of character within its pages.
Our heroin is the Princess Alyrra who is looked down... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 36

“A magical fairytale”

Thorn is an enjoyable retelling of the Grimm fairytale The Goose Girl.

Princess Alyrra is brought up by a cruel family. Her father is dead. Her brother is abusive and her mother is very cold and unloving.
It is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Brilliant characters and world-building!”

Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest thoughts.

4.5 stars!

Reading Thorn made me really happy. I mean, it’s a Young Adult fantasy retelling by an Asian author – what’s not to love?! I’ve... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: