Thorn (Paperback)
  • Thorn (Paperback)
zoom

Thorn (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 24/03/2020
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family's cruelty and the court's contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies - and now so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman's, giving Alyrra the first choice she's ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she's never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realise, sometimes the hardest choice means learning to trust herself. Inspired by The Goose Girl fairytale by the Brothers Grimm.

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471408724
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 371 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I really enjoyed reading Alyrra's story which follows her as she grows in confidence and learns to trust in the courage of her convictions. * Mini Travellers *
"This is how you survive: one breath to the next, refusing each thought as it comes to you. This is how you get through the worst of things." Khanani's retelling of "The Goose Girl" keeps the basics of the fairytale the same (a princess is sent to a kingdom to marry a prince but is betrayed and looses her title) but expands the story to include examinations of violence and its effects on main characters. It could be easy to dismiss Alyrra as just a weak and passive princess, but Khanani smartly delves into the realistic reactions and responses a person would have to trauma. * Book Riot *
A dark, Middle-Eastern influenced retelling about dangerous secrets, false identities, delicious court intrigue and justice. ... Perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn. * Culture Fly *

You may also be interested in...

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket
The Assassin's Blade
Added to basket
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket
Lyra's Oxford
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Crown of Midnight
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Once Upon a Time in the North
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Book 2)
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Coraline
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
King of Scars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Brilliant characters and world-building!”

Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest thoughts.

4.5 stars!

Reading Thorn made me really happy. I mean, it’s a Young Adult fantasy retelling by an Asian author – what’s not to love?! I’ve... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A magical fairytale”

Thorn is an enjoyable retelling of the Grimm fairytale The Goose Girl.

Princess Alyrra is brought up by a cruel family. Her father is dead. Her brother is abusive and her mother is very cold and unloving.
It is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“YES yes yes!”

Alyrra is the princess of the small woodland kingdom of Adania. When the king of Menaiya arrives with the intention of betrothing her to his son Prince Kestrin, she is torn between the joy of leaving her abusive... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.