This Time of Dying (Paperback)
  • This Time of Dying (Paperback)

This Time of Dying (Paperback)

2 Reviews Write your review
£7.99
Paperback Published: 12/04/2007
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy. It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead. For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty. But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death. Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.

Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781846270468

You may also be interested in...

“This Time of Dying”

A man of courage, a man of compassion, a man of conviction, a man of integrity. Such a person is Henry Speake. A funeral Director at the time of the Spanish Flu in 1918, Henry Speake deals with the intense horror of... More

Paperback edition
13th May 2009
Helpful? Upvote 0

“This Time of Dying”

A man of courage, a man of compassion, a man of conviction, a man of integrity. Such a person is Henry Speake. A funeral Director at the time of the Spanish Flu in 1918, Henry Speake deals with the intense horror of... More

Paperback edition
22nd April 2007
Helpful? Upvote 0

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot