This Rough Magic: A completely unputdownable adventure set in the South of France (Paperback)
  • This Rough Magic: A completely unputdownable adventure set in the South of France (Paperback)
zoom

This Rough Magic: A completely unputdownable adventure set in the South of France (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 17/03/2011
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

The pioneer of romantic suspense and author of Madam, Will You Talk? Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events.

I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .


A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444720501
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Suspense and romance expertly mingled * Observer *
Keeps one awake through the long night's journey into day * Guardian *
A splendid book at any time * News of the World *
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan *
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans *

You may also be interested in...

Level 3: Notting Hill
Added to basket
Why Didn't They Ask Evans?
Added to basket
Level 4: 1984 Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
£10.22
Mixed media product
Level 1: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea Book and CD Pack
Added to basket
Level 5: The Great Gatsby Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
Macmillan Readers Lost World The Elementary
Added to basket
Level 5: Sherlock Holmes Short Stories
Added to basket
Amazing Leaders
Added to basket
£7.99
Mixed media product
Level 5: The Great Gatsby
Added to basket
Level 4: The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Level 4: Detective Work
Added to basket
£8.70   £2.17
Paperback

“A classic thriller from 1964 set on a Greek Island with deception, danger and a dolphin”

A Greek island, a dolphin and mysterious sea based activities dominate this classic thriller by a skilled and dynamic writer of adventure narrated by a woman. In this particular book Lucy is a ‘resting’ actress who is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.