Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
This Rough Magic (Paperback)
  • This Rough Magic (Paperback)
zoom

This Rough Magic (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 17/03/2011
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events.

I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .


A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444720501
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 288 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 27 mm
Edition: Digital original


MEDIA REVIEWS
Suspense and romance expertly mingled * Observer *
Keeps one awake through the long night's journey into day * Guardian *
A splendid book at any time * News of the World *
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan *
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans *

You may also be interested in...

Level 3:Romeo and Juliet Book & MP3 Pack
Added to basket
The Man in the Brown Suit
Added to basket
Level 4: The Picture of Dorian Gray Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
Level 4: The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
Level 5: The Great Gatsby Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
Level 4: Love Actually Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
This Rough Magic
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Level 3: Notting Hill
Added to basket
Level 5: Dr Zhivago Book and MP3 Pack
Added to basket
Level 5: Pride and Prejudice
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.