Things I Should Have Known (Paperback)
  • Things I Should Have Known (Paperback)
zoom

Things I Should Have Known (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 01/04/2018
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class. Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't - Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices - and the realisation that it's okay to be a different kind of normal. An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN: 9781328869340
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 211 x 140 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"More a love story about sisterhood than romantic, it's a story that will illuminate what it's like to live an ordinary teenage life when you have autism."
--Bustle

* "LaZebnik hits it out of the park with her story about pretty, popular Chloe and her loving relationship with her older, autistic sister, Ivy... With perceptiveness and ample skill, LaZebnik paints a vivid picture of what the sibling of a person with high-functioning autism might go through. Never resorting to stereotype, she depicts appealing, three--dimensional characters who flesh out a narrative that is compassionate, tender, funny, and wise all at once. This insightful, well--written story will entertain readers while inspiring meaningful empathy."
--Booklist, starred review

"In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik (Wrong About the Guy) examines the evolution of several relationships. . . . Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences."
--Publishers Weekly

"An eye-opening look at autism and those it touches."
--Kirkus

"Chloe and her sister are so authentically portrayed, they nearly leap off the page. . . . This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life's challenges."
--School Library Journal

"A charmingly honest, insightful story about love, family, and frozen yogurt. So good you'll finish it in one sitting!"
--Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything and Extraordinary Means

"Things I Should Have Known is funny, compassionate, and loving. LaZebnik writes with authority and ease, capturing the complexities of sibling bonds and first love, and crafting characters to root for from start to finish."
--Emma Mills, author of First & Then

"At once romantic and touching, perceptive and honest, Things I Should Have Known is about first love, the bonds of sisterhood, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down."
--Julie Buxbaum, author of Tell Me Three Things

"A fiercely honest and surprising story about family, first love, and the beauty of individuality. LaZebnik reminds us that sometimes the most wonderful things in life are the things you never expected."
--Ashley Blake, author of Suffer Love

You may also be interested in...

Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket
The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do (and Stories Too!)
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.