The Year of The Rat (Paperback)
  • The Year of The Rat (Paperback)
zoom

The Year of The Rat (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 01/01/2015
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Beautifully written' The Stylist
'You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll love this book' The Sun
'Lingers in the mind long after the final word has been read' Malorie Blackman, former Children's Laureate

'
I always thought you'd know, somehow, if something terrible was going to happen. I thought you'd sense it, like when the air goes damp and heavy before a storm and you know you'd better hide yourself away somewhere safe until it all blows over. But it turns out it's not like that at all. There's no scary music playing in the background like in films. No warning signs. Not even a lonely magpie. One for sorrow, Mum used to say. Quick, look for another.'

The world can tip at any moment ... a fact that fifteen-year-old Pearl is all too aware of when her mum dies after giving birth to her baby sister. Told across the year following her mother's death, Pearl's story is full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about how you deal with grief that cuts you to the bone, as she tries not only to come to terms with losing her mum, but also the fact that her sister - The Rat - is a constant reminder of why her mum is no longer around...

Shortlisted for the Branford Boase prize and longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, this breataking novel from YA bookprize shortlisted author Clare Furniss, will make you laugh, cry and hold your loved ones a little bit tighter. Perfect for fans of Jenny Downham,Meg Rosoff and Sara Barnard.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471120282
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A truly amazing read. This story will linger in the mind long after the final word has been read. Highly recommended. -- Malorie Blackman, author of Noughts and Crosses
I cried, I laughed, I cried some more... a moving must-read that'll stay with you long after the last page is turned. -- Nic Hubbard * Bliss *
Beautifully written and emotionally charged debut about love, loss and families. Would appeal to fans of Annabel Pitcher. * The Bookseller *
The Year of The Rat is a sensitive, beautifully written book. -- Meg Rosoff, author of How I Live Now
Beautifully written with a dry sense of humour. * The Stylist *
I loved this book and want other people to love it too . . . 'The Year of the Rat' is not just authentic, it is also wonderfully written and perfect in every way.
-- Rachel Hamilton, author of The Case of the Exploding Brains
The Year of the Rat is already a strong contender for best YA debut of 2014... I never wanted it to end. * Wondrous Reads Blog *

You may also be interested in...

How to Spot a Dinosaur
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket
She Gets the Girl
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The King is Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Her Dark Wings
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
It's Not Summer Without You
Added to basket
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Isadora Moon and the Shooting Star
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
You've Reached Sam
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cat Kid Comic Club 3: On Purpose
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Treehouse Tales
Added to basket
£10.99   £5.49
Hardback

“I cried, I laughed, I loved it!”

A surprisingly bitter sweet, life-affirming story about loss, grief, and family dynamics. Yes it had me bawling my eyes out at times but it also made me laugh. The main character, Pearl, seems real and the author... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Such a great book!”

Pearl is a wonderful character, she is refreshingly honest and flawed and her feelings towards The Rat are very strong. The sensitive issues of grief, loss and acceptance are dealt with in a straightforward yet... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Certainly an author to look out for!”

This is one of the most refreshing books i've read in some months. Not normally something that I would pick up but I was intrigued by the story and I always like to read an authors first offering if possible so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.