The Year of The Rat (Paperback)
  • The Year of The Rat (Paperback)
zoom

The Year of The Rat (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 01/01/2015
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Beautifully written' The Stylist
'You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll love this book' The Sun
'Lingers in the mind long after the final word has been read' Malorie Blackman, former Children's Laureate

'
I always thought you'd know, somehow, if something terrible was going to happen. I thought you'd sense it, like when the air goes damp and heavy before a storm and you know you'd better hide yourself away somewhere safe until it all blows over. But it turns out it's not like that at all. There's no scary music playing in the background like in films. No warning signs. Not even a lonely magpie. One for sorrow, Mum used to say. Quick, look for another.'

The world can tip at any moment ... a fact that fifteen-year-old Pearl is all too aware of when her mum dies after giving birth to her baby sister. Told across the year following her mother's death, Pearl's story is full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about how you deal with grief that cuts you to the bone, as she tries not only to come to terms with losing her mum, but also the fact that her sister - The Rat - is a constant reminder of why her mum is no longer around...

Shortlisted for the Branford Boase prize and longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, this breataking novel from YA bookprize shortlisted author Clare Furniss, will make you laugh, cry and hold your loved ones a little bit tighter. Perfect for fans of Jenny Downham,Meg Rosoff and Sara Barnard.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471120282
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A truly amazing read. This story will linger in the mind long after the final word has been read. Highly recommended. -- Malorie Blackman, author of Noughts and Crosses
I cried, I laughed, I cried some more... a moving must-read that'll stay with you long after the last page is turned. -- Nic Hubbard * Bliss *
Beautifully written and emotionally charged debut about love, loss and families. Would appeal to fans of Annabel Pitcher. * The Bookseller *
The Year of The Rat is a sensitive, beautifully written book. -- Meg Rosoff, author of How I Live Now
Beautifully written with a dry sense of humour. * The Stylist *
I loved this book and want other people to love it too . . . 'The Year of the Rat' is not just authentic, it is also wonderfully written and perfect in every way.
-- Rachel Hamilton, author of The Case of the Exploding Brains
The Year of the Rat is already a strong contender for best YA debut of 2014... I never wanted it to end. * Wondrous Reads Blog *

You may also be interested in...

The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Book of Hopes
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
My Life as a Cat
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
Mirabelle Gets up to Mischief
Added to basket
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Voyage of the Sparrowhawk
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Diary of a Soccer Star
Added to basket
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic
Added to basket
The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback

“I cried, I laughed, I loved it!”

A surprisingly bitter sweet, life-affirming story about loss, grief, and family dynamics. Yes it had me bawling my eyes out at times but it also made me laugh. The main character, Pearl, seems real and the author... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Certainly an author to look out for!”

This is one of the most refreshing books i've read in some months. Not normally something that I would pick up but I was intrigued by the story and I always like to read an authors first offering if possible so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Such a great book!”

Pearl is a wonderful character, she is refreshingly honest and flawed and her feelings towards The Rat are very strong. The sensitive issues of grief, loss and acceptance are dealt with in a straightforward yet... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.