• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Yard: Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 - Scotland Yard Murder Squad (Paperback)
  • The Yard: Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 - Scotland Yard Murder Squad (Paperback)
zoom

The Yard: Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 - Scotland Yard Murder Squad (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 592 Pages / Published: 03/01/2013
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A gripping debut from Alex Grecian, The Yard evokes London in the wake of Jack the Ripper.

Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty.

When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large? Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper?

Fans of Interpretation of Murder and The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher will love Alex Grecian's first crime novel: The Yard. The Yard will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI.

Praise for The Yard:

'If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is.' - New York Times

Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241958919
Number of pages: 592
Weight: 405 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 35 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Then She Was Gone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Faking Friends
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The Zanzibar Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Travelling Cat Chronicles
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
Lincoln in the Bardo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Defectors
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Endless Beach
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
History of Wolves
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Gripping!!”

I was actually recommeneded this book by a customer and I'm so glad I picked it up. I've always been a bit of a Ripper fan and this book picks up about a year after Jack's last killing, bringing into... More

Paperback edition
21st September 2013
Helpful? Upvote 35

“For Jack The Ripper Fans”

i got a proof hardback copy of this last year and i'm so happy it's finally out in paperback! so working at the new scotland yard is turning out pretty good for our lead character. until a police officers... More

Paperback edition
5th February 2013
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Brilliant Introduction To The Murder Squad.”

The Yard is a truly gripping and unique take on police work which any crime fan needs to read. Rather than dealing with the modern day police work, we look back at the Victorian police force and the world at that... More

Paperback edition
5th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.