Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class | 20th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Wren - Collins New Naturalist Monograph Library 3 (Hardback)
  • The Wren - Collins New Naturalist Monograph Library 3 (Hardback)

The Wren - Collins New Naturalist Monograph Library 3 (Hardback)

Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 27/10/2011
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Collins New Naturalist series is the longest-running and arguably the most influential natural history series in the world with over 100 volumes published in over 60 years. This edition is produced from an original copy by William Collins.

While the mainstream New Naturalist volumes were initially intended to deal with broad subjects such as wild flowers, insects or National Parks, a parallel New Naturalist series of monographs on single species or related groups of species was also published between 1948 and 1971. There have been no additions since. Now, for the first time in over forty years, these best-selling volumes are available again.

The New Naturalist monographs shared the same high standards of the main series and were envisioned as relatively short books of about 50,000 words, and in a smaller format than the main series. Artists Clifford and Rosemary Ellis were asked to design jackets for this series alongside the main series, which resulted in the same stunning, distinctive cover illustrations that had helped inspire an entire new generation of nature enthusiasts.

The New Naturalist Monograph Series:

1 The Badger by Ernest Neal
2 The Redstart by John Buxton
3 The Wren by Edward A. Armstrong
4 The Yellow Wagtail by Stuart Smith
5 The Greenshank by Desmond Nethersole-Thompson
6 The Fulmar by James Fisher
7 Fleas, Flukes and Cuckoos by Miriam Rothschild and Theresa Clay
8 Ants by Derek Wragge Morley
9 The Herring Gull's World by Niko Tinbergen
10 Mumps, Measles and Mosaics by Kenneth M. Smith and Roy Markham
11 The Heron by Frank A. Lowe
12 Squirrels by Monica Shorten
13 The Rabbit by Harry V. Thompson and Alastair N. Worden
14 Birds of the London Area Since 1900 by R. C. Holmes and the London Natural History Society
15 The Hawfinch by Guy Mountfort
16 The Salmon by J. W. Jones
17 Lords & Ladies by Cecil T. Prime
18 Oysters by C. M. Yonge
19 The House Sparrow by J. D. Summers-Smith
20 The Wood Pigeon by R. K. Murton
21 The Trout by W. E. Frost and M. E. Brown
22 The Mole by Kenneth Mellanby

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007435647
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 272 g
Dimensions: 206 x 141 x 15 mm


Praise for the New Naturalist series:

`Taken either individually or as a whole, they are one of the proudest achievements of modern publishing' The Sunday Times

`The series is an amazing achievement' The Times Literary Supplement

`The books are glorious to own' Independent

You may also be interested in...

The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
How to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Match a Pair of Birds
Added to basket
The Almanac
Added to basket
£10.00   £8.99
Jungle Bingo
Added to basket
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
The Private Life of the Hare
Added to basket
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket
The Lost Words
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
The Twelve Birds of Christmas
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Down in the Valley
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
The Robin
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.