Ts&Cs apply
The World of Yesterday: Memoirs of a European (Paperback)
  • The World of Yesterday: Memoirs of a European (Paperback)
zoom

The World of Yesterday: Memoirs of a European (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 01/01/2011
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'The time provides the pictures, I merely speak the words to go with them, and it will not be so much my own story I tell as that of an entire generation - our unique generation, carrying a heavier burden of fate than almost any other in the course of history.'

During his lifetime, Stefan Zweig's (1881-1942) works were immensely popular and widely translated. In the decades after his death, he was largely forgotten in the English-speaking world. Recent years, however, have witnessed a resurgence of interest in this singular author, and Pushkin Press has been at the forefront of this movement.

The World of Yesterday, Zweig's memoir, was completed shortly before his suicide. It charts the history of Europe from nineteenth-century splendour, decadence and complacency, through the devastation of the First World War, to the resultant brutality and depravity of the Nazi regime. The World of Yesterday is a heartfelt tribute to an age of humanity and enlightenment that Zweig feared was lost for ever. An incomparable record of a lost era, this is also essential reading for those who have already fallen in love with Zweig's fiction.

'One of the canonical European testaments... [Zweig's] life and work tell of the perilous flimsiness of our world of security - a message that many insistently deny, but somehow need to hear' John Gray, New Statesman

'One of the greatest memoirs of the twentieth century' David Hare

'Stefan Zweig's time of oblivion is over for good... it's good to have him back' Salman Rushdie, The New York Times

'One of the joys of recent years is the translation into English of Stefan Zweig's stories' Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with the Amber Eyes

'Zweig deserves to be famous again, and for good' Times Literary Supplement

'Indispensable' The Times

Publisher: Pushkin Press
ISBN: 9781906548674
Number of pages: 480
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The World of Yesterday is one of the greatest memoirs of the twentieth century, as perfect in its evocation of the world Zweig loved, as it is in its portrayal of how that world was destroyed -- David Hare This absolutely extraordinary book is more than just an autobiography. (...) This is a book that should be read by anyone who is even slightly interested in the creative imagination and the intellectual life, the brute force of history upon individual lives, the possibility of culture and, quite simply, what it meant to be alive between 1881 and 1942. That should cover a fair number of you -- Nicholas Lezard His memoir, The World of Yesterday, is one of his best works, a marvellous recapturing of a Europe that Hitler and his thugs destroyed. Zweig seems to have known everyone, and writes about the great figures of his day with insight, sympathy and, most unusually for a writer, modesty -- John Banville One of the canonical European testaments... [Zweig's] life and work tell of the perilous flimsiness of our world of security-a message that many insistently deny, but somehow need to hear -- John Gray New Statesman Unnervingly topical The Week

You may also be interested in...

The World of Virginia Woolf
Added to basket
Wifedom
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Thunderclap
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
The Secret Life of John le Carré
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Super-Infinite
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
Arrangements in Blue
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Long and Winding Road
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Stay True
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Cost of Living
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Agatha Christie Bingo
Added to basket
Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes
Added to basket
A Fortunate Woman
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Agatha Christie
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Caroline at Leamington Spa

“One of the Most Important Books in History”

Stefan Zweig committed suicide the day after sending this memoir to his publishers in February 1942; exiled in Brazil, this is a love-letter to the Vienna - and Europe - he feared had been lost to the theatre of two... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

“For Fans of European History, Literature and The Grand Budapest Hotel”

This is a nostalgic look at the world its author loved and lived in, with a great deal of affection for the Austrian way of life, all before it was lost to two world wars and the thuggish brutality of the Nazi Regime.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: