The World Doesn't Require You (Paperback)
  • The World Doesn't Require You (Paperback)
zoom

The World Doesn't Require You (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Welcome to Cross River, Maryland. Established by the leaders of the country's only successful slave revolt, history casts a long shadow over its residents. Among them are David Sherman, a struggling musician who just happens to be the last son of God; Jim, a Robot Personal Helper desperate to escape the master who enslaves him; and James-my-man, who travels the path of the Underground Railroad year after year.

Not to forget the water women who lure men to their watery graves and the screecher birds who cry out for sacrificial flesh...

PRAISE FOR THE WORLD DOESN'T REQUIRE YOU:

'I wandered into Cross River, not knowing a damn thing. Now I'm shuddering, gasping in wonder, reading stories over and over, and doing just about anything so that I never leave' MARLON JAMES

'A musical and visceral explosion. The book makes you laugh even as it stabs. The truth told in a completely new way' NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH

'Flat-out unputdownable' LAURA VAN DEN BERG

'Rion Amilcar Scott doesn't hold back or tiptoe around issues about race. He's the most courageous writer I know; and this collection is an excellent example and significant achievement. He's now made his mark as a force to reckon with' NICOLE DENNIS-BENN

'Surreal, intertextual, and darkly comical... With breathtaking cruelty and devastating humor, Scott adduces the whole world in one community' NAFISSA THOMPSON-SPIRES

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781800244337
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 210 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Rion Amilcar Scott proves himself an impressive myth-slayer and fable-maker... The World Doesn't Require You reminds us that having to fight racism has a strange way of distorting everything one touches' * New York Times Book Review *
'A rich, genre-splicing mix of alternate history, magical realism and satire that interrogates issues of race, sexism and where both meet here in the real world' * Los Angeles Times *
'Bizarre, tender and brilliantly imagined, The World Doesn't Require You isn't just one of the most inventive books of the year, it's also one of the best' * NPR *
A bleak and beautiful collection of short stories... Scott demonstrates the skill and long-range vision of a writer we need right now. The World Doesn't Require You requires a commitment from readers, one that will be greatly repaid in literary satisfaction' * USA TODAY *
Surreal, intertextual, and darkly comical stories... Rion Amilcar Scott writes in the tradition of George Schuyler and Ishmael Reed but with a distinctive wry, playful voice that is wholly his own. With breathtaking cruelty and devastating humor, Scott adduces the whole world in one community' -- Nafissa Thompson-Spires, author of Heads of the Colored People
'I wandered into Cross River, not knowing a damn thing. Now I'm shuddering, gasping in wonder, reading stories over and over, and doing just about anything so that I never leave' -- Marlon James, Booker Prize-winning author of A History of Seven Killings
'A musical and visceral explosion. The book makes you laugh even as it stabs. The truth told in a completely new way' -- Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, author of Friday Black
'A bold new talent emerges with this boundary-shattering collection' * Esquire *
'Scott joins a growing tradition of African-American authors fusing the folksy dystopian humor of George Saunders with the charged satire of Ishmael Reed and expands on it brilliantly' * New York magazine. *
'God may have forsaken [these characters], Scott does not. The World Doesn't Require You is full of horrible, ridiculous people, but it's full of grace, too' * A.V. Club. *
'A major unique literary talent' * Entertainment Weekly *
'Flat-out unputdownable' -- Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel
'Rion Amilcar Scott doesn't hold back or tiptoe around issues about race. He's the most courageous writer I know; and this collection is an excellent example and significant achievement. He's now made his mark as a force to reckon with' -- Nicole Dennis-Benn, author of Patsy
'Powerful and revelatory' * Salon *
'Weaves incisive criticism, dark humor, and magical realism in profound explorations of belief, love, justice, and violence' * BuzzFeed *
'We have so far to go and so little time to get there, Scott seems to say. Maybe spending a few hours in Cross River will help build a bridge. Or blow one up, if need be' * Washington Post *
An 'impressive myth-slayer'... [Scott] shows that 'sidelining' white racist characters doesn't erase the effects of slavery' * New York Times Sunday *
'Thought-provoking tales that will flow from page to page, steeped in abstract mysticism' * Bad Form Review *
Threading together tales of adrenaline, violence and rhythm, American writer Rion Amilcar Scott presents a stunning narrative that bestows its shine from its sharp edges... The World Doesn't Require You reminds us of the fruitful space between the surreal, the horrific and the run-of-the-mill. Rion Amilcar Scott is a writer that we will continue to expect great things from' * Glass *

You may also be interested in...

Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Murder On The Christmas Express
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Mad Honey
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
It Starts With Us
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.