The Wonderful World of James Herriot (Hardback)
  • The Wonderful World of James Herriot (Hardback)
zoom

The Wonderful World of James Herriot (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £22.00
£11.00
Save £11.00 (50%)
Hardback 400 Pages
Published: 27/10/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

From raging bulls to lambing season, enjoy the warmth and gentle humour of numerous classic stories culled from the pages of the famous vet's memoirs in this beautifully presented hardback volume.

The perfect gift for fans of All Creatures Great and Small, this is a charming collection of classic stories from James Herriot's much-loved books with insights into his life and work from his children Rosie and Jim.

With astute observations and boundless humour, country vet Herriot captures the spirit of the Yorkshire Dales and of rural communities on the cusp of change, before tractors and machines had taken over and modern medicines and antibiotics transformed veterinary work. Along the way a beloved cast of characters emerges, from the squabbling brothers Tristan and Siegfried to Herriot's hapless courtship and eventual family life with Helen Anderson. But it's the animals which are at the heart of Herriot's stories. Whether he's dodging a raging bull on a risky artificial insemination assignment, becoming pen pals with Tricki Woo the spoilt Pikingese or the inevitable trials and tribulations of lambing season, there's never a dull moment in Herriot's company.

At times moving and often laugh-out-loud funny, The Wonderful World of James Herriot will delight fans old and new.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035008537
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 638 g
Dimensions: 242 x 163 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It cleverly interweaves extracts from his novels, with an interesting commentary from his son and daughter . . . their memories and anecdotes augment the stories and make delightful reading - The Yorkshire Times

You may also be interested in...

A Flat Place
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
By the River
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Ten Birds That Changed the World
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Golden Mole
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Lost Rainforests of Britain
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds
Added to basket
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Rising Down
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Braiding Sweetgrass
Added to basket
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket
The Year of Sitting Dangerously
Added to basket
Food For Free
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Bitch
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Observant Walker
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
The Forager's Calendar
Added to basket
Sarn Helen
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
George
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“Great introduction to the books”

This book is an interesting one in that really it's for those who haven't read the original novels or Jim Wight's excellent biography of his father. The book consists of excerpts from the original... More

Paperback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“A charming collection of stories!”

The Wonderful World of James Herriot by James Herriot is a charming collection of stories. I enjoy watching All Creatures Great and Small which is why I wanted to read the stories that inspired the series. I enjoyed... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: