The Women Could Fly (Paperback)
  • The Women Could Fly (Paperback)
zoom

The Women Could Fly (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 03/08/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Confronting prejudices about both gender and race with nuance and real power, Giddings' incendiary dystopia is set in a world where women must marry by the age of thirty and accusations of witchcraft can have deadly consequences.

Josephine Thomas has heard every conceivable theory about her mother's disappearance. That she was kidnapped. Murdered. That she took on a new identity to start a new family. That she was a witch. This is the most worrying charge, because in a world where witches are real, peculiar behaviour raises suspicions and a woman - especially a Black woman - can find herself on trial for witchcraft.

But fourteen years have passed since her mother's disappearance, and now Jo is finally ready to let go of the past. Yet her future is in doubt. The State mandates that all women marry by the age of thirty - or enrol in a registry that allows them to be monitored, effectively forfeiting their autonomy. At twenty-eight, Jo is ambivalent about marriage. With her ability to control her life on the line, she feels as if she has her never understood her mother more. When she's offered the opportunity to honour one last request from her mother's will, Jo leaves her regular life to feel connected to her one last time.

In this powerful and timely novel, Megan Giddings explores the limits women face - and the powers they have to transgress and transcend them.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035001606
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 206 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

For fans of Margaret Atwood - Elle Magazine

Thoughtful novel, written in a wry, magical realist tone reminiscent of Kelly Link and Carmen Maria Machado - Guardian

Megan Giddings's prose is brimming with wonder. The Women Could Fly is a candid appraisal of grief, inheritance, and the merits of unruliness. - Raven Leilani, Bestselling author of Luster

This novel put me in the mind of the works of Margaret Atwood. An extraordinary concept - Platinum

The relationship at the heart of this novel — between Jo and her mercurial mother — is much closer to timeless. - The New York Times

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. - Stylist

The Women Could Fly is an absolute triumph. Giddings conjures up a world that feels familiar, despite the increasingly creepy hints of dystopia. And along the way, she shows what the anti-witch crusaders really fear most: our ability to create a better world if we work together. - Washington Post

One of the most exhilarating and fulfilling books I've read in years. It's wildly imaginative, funny, deep, radical, and full of suspense. - Jamie Attenberg, author of The Middlesteins

Profound, daring, wondrous, and utterly original. A feminist dystopian epic . . . a hypnotic blend of enchantment and outrage. I could not love this novel more. - Jessamine Chan, author of The School for Good Mothers

This is a gem of a book about womanhood, lineage, and defiance. - C Pam Zhang, author of How Much of These Hills Is Gold

Reading this book is like putting on an old winter coat and discovering a magical talisman in the pocket: it’s full of warmth, comfort, and a whole new world of possibility. - Adrienne Celt, author of End of the World House

The Women Could Fly recalls legendary works of dystopian fiction but casts a spell all its own. - Alexandra Kleeman, author of Something New Under the Sun

Megan Giddings has a knack for taking her readers on a wild, suspenseful and thrilling ride. With descriptive setting and peculiar character development, I'm sure this novel is about to give us Dune meets The Salem Witch Trials realness. - Buzzfeed

A book with echoes of Octavia Butler and Shirley Jackson. - Electric Lit

Megan Giddings is a young writer to watch. - Kirkus Reviews

Buzzes with hot-button issues - Daily Mail

You may also be interested in...

Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Kala
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop
Added to basket
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Katy Wheatley

“A Queer, Handmaid's Tale With Added Witchcraft - Blisteringly Good”

Josephine Thomas lives in a contemporary America with a twist. In this reality, witches are real. Witches are also feared. As soon as girls reach puberty it is their family's duty to monitor them for abnormal... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Interesting twist on witchcraft”

"The Women Could Fly" by Megan Giddings proposes an interesting twist on witchcraft. It is set in a world where witches exist but if women want to be a witch, they must fill out a lot of paperwork and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Georgina (ReadsEatsExplores)

“A chilling Dystopian read”

Giddings’s second novel is chilling in its portrayal of a society where witches are real, and every woman is in danger of being accused of being one.

I'll be honest, when I started the book, I didn't much... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: