The Woman on the Pier (Paperback)
  • The Woman on the Pier (Paperback)
zoom

The Woman on the Pier (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 11/11/2021
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

From the author of former Waterstones Thriller of the Month The Dinner Guest comes another pulsating psychological page-turner, as a grieving mother swears vengeance on the person she views responsible for her daughter’s murder.

'As much a thriller as a chilling exploration of grief, The Woman on the Pier is one of B P Walter's finest-and most shocking-novels yet' A. J. Gnuse, author of Girl in the Walls

Two strangers meet on the pier Only one walks away...

Screenwriter Caroline Byrne is desperate to know why her daughter Jessica died, murdered in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend's in Somerset.

When Caroline discovers the messages Jessica had been sending a boy named Michael, she realises it's because of him. Because he failed to meet her that day.

He's the reason why her daughter is dead.

And so she makes a choice. He's the one who's going to pay.

That is her promise. Her price.

Set between Essex, Kent, and Australia, The Woman on the Pier is a dark suspense thriller brimming with secrets and lies seeping across three generations - a must-read for fans of Lucy Foley and Rosamund Lupton.

'An unflinching, visceral and eloquently written dissection of a mother's grief and her journey to get what she perceives as justice' R. J. Parker, author of The Good Neighbour

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008446109
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for THE DINNER GUEST:

'Stayed up till past 2am to finish this! Well done, B P Walter - immensely gripping!' Sophie Hannah, Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Hercule Poirot Mysteries

'Could not put this book down, kept me guessing the entire way. Wow! A triumph from B P Walter' Susan Lewis, Sunday Times-bestselling author of FORGIVE ME

'I couldn't put this down. Suspenseful and well crafted, this is twisty, addictive reading to add to your list' Debbie Howells, bestselling author of THE VOW and Richard and Judy Book Club pick THE BONES OF YOU

Praise for A VERSION OF THE TRUTH:

'Devilishly well-plotted, crisply written - and a hell of a lot of fun. What a smashing debut!' A.J. Finn, #1 bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

'Beguiling, surprising and sometimes shocking. Cleverly crafted with characters who stay with you. Highly-polished debut.' Jane Corry, author of THE DEAD EX

'Such a confident debut from Barnaby Walter and the most disturbing thriller I've read this year.'
Emma Curtis, author of ONE LITTLE MISTAKE and WHEN I FIND YOU.

'Day one of my holiday lost to B P Walter and his intriguing thriller A Version of the Truth. If you like Peter Swanson, this will be right up your dark, twisted alley'
John Marrs, author of THE ONE

'A Version of the Truth is engaging and sinister in places. Walter has created wonderfully authentic characters, and the writing is superb. Highly recommended.' Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 99 RED BALLOONS

'Walter's debut is an assured piece of world-building, with characters both flawed and real, and a crescendo that sweeps you up then crashes you down. Unpredictable, clever & subtly twisted. Loved it.' Helen Fields, author of PERFECT SILENCE

'A dark and sometimes disturbing debut; a compelling story with credible characters. Walter emerges as a powerful new voice in the world of thriller writing.' Diane Jeffrey, author of HE WILL FIND YOU

You may also be interested in...

The Judge's List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Vanished
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Jealousy Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Absolutely Gripping and Fantastic!”

Get ready for a roller coaster ride of a book filled with twist and turns galore which will take your breath away. The Woman on the Pier is an absolutely wonderful thriller, dark and attention grabbing and had me... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Excellent read, highly recommend”

Caroline Byrne is consumed with grief following the death of her daughter Jessica and desperate for answers. The storyline follows Caroline in her search for the truth after she discovers messages between Jessica and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Disappointing.”

The Woman On The Pier is the fourth novel by British author, B.P. Walter. Successful screenwriter Caroline Byrne is a little concerned when messages to her teenaged daughter, Jessica go unanswered during a terrorist... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.