The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (Paperback)
  • The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (Paperback)
zoom

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 02/08/2012
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Can you go a little faster? Can you run? Long ago, at a time in history that never happened, England was overrun with wolves. But as Bonnie and her cousin Sylvia discover, real danger often lies closer to home. Their new governess, Miss Slighcarp, doesn't seem at all nice. She shuts Bonnie in a cupboard, fires the faithful servants and sends the cousins far away from Willoughby Chase to a place they will never be found. Can Bonnie and Sylvia outwit the wicked Miss Slighcarp and her network of criminals, forgers and snitches? BACKSTORY: Find out a few things you didn't know about wolves and learn all about the wonderful world of the author.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9780099572879
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 172 g
Dimensions: 188 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Joan Aiken is a marvel" -- Philip Pullman
"She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew" -- Amanda Craig * The Times *
"Dickensian in flavour ... rich in atmosphere and intrigue" -- Julia Eccleshare * Guardian *
"A genuine small masterpiece" -- Time
"Thrilling tale...stuffed with atmosphere, adventure, memorable characters and luxuriant Gothic prose. Any child who discovers it will fall in love, not only with Aiken's writing, but with reading... The Wolves sequence has inspired writers from Philip Pullman to Cathryn Constable... Aiken was a genius, and her reissue deserves howls of delight" -- Amanda Craig * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Awful Auntie
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
Flamingo Boy
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“The Wolves of Willoughby Chase”

Read this book as a 12 year old (16 years ago). Sadly the only thing I can remember about it now is that I absolutely loved it.

Paperback edition
2nd March 2009
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Classic page turning”

I hope my older great niece enjoys this as much as my own children did over 30 years ago.
I have got her parts 2 & 3 of the series as I think she may run out of book before she runs out of holiday!

Hardback edition
15th December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 14

“A classic!”

I am ashamed to say I had never read any Joan Aiken before this one, but I absolutely loved it! It's a classic adventure story, and is perfect for fans of Lauren St. John and Eva Ibbotson. I love Bonnie, she was... More

Paperback edition
9th March 2013
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.