The Wolf Road (Hardback)
  • The Wolf Road (Hardback)
zoom

The Wolf Road (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 30/06/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice. What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer? Perfect for fans of STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel.

Since the Damn Stupid turned the clock back on civilization by centuries, the world has been a harsher place. But Elka has learned everything she needs to survive from the man she calls Trapper, the solitary hunter who took her in when she was just seven years old.

So when Elka sees the Wanted poster in town, her simple existence is shattered. Her Trapper - Kreagar Hallet - is wanted for murder. Even worse, Magistrate Lyon is hot on his trail, and she wants to talk to Elka.

Elka flees into the vast wilderness, determined to find her true parents. But Lyon is never far behind - and she's not the only one following Elka's every move. There will be a reckoning, one that will push friendships to the limit and force Elka to confront the dark memories of her past.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008145453
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 620 g
Dimensions: 227 x 159 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`An intriguing tale of post apocalyptic survival ... One of those books one picks up instead of turning on the television ... Read this book for the characters and the tale of how they develop against a stark backdrop of survival in a crumbled world' Robin Hobb

`What a voice Elka has, marvellously sustained' Rob Ewing, author of The Last of Us

`Arresting ... Lewis takes the reader on an odyssey that highlights the striking wilderness landscape and Elka's grit' Publishers Weekly

`The Wolf Road is an extraordinary novel - dark and funny and full of wild energy. Elka is a brilliant creation - fierce and vulnerable at the same time. Her story and her voice pull you in from the first page and never let you go. Gripping and unforgettable' Antonia Hodgson, author of The Devil in the Marshalsea

`The Wolf Road drew me in from the first page and had me on the edge of my seat, white knuckled and breathless until I reached the end... Unlike anything I've ever read. 5 Stars' Goodreads Reviewer

`Excellent read. I couldn't put it down, and when everything began to unfold my jaw literally dropped. 5 stars' Goodreads Reviewer

`A remarkable novel in so many ways... Elka is a fantastic, memorable creation with such a wonderful distinct voice... A book of the year for me' For Winter Nights Blog

`Quite simply, brilliant. Wonderfully written, with a superbly strong female lead the like of which I've not seen for a very long time' Espressococo.com

This is an exceptional debut from Beth Lewis and a cracking good read. The book is just like one of Elka's snares, traps you and doesn't let go until the final page' Tattooed Book Geek

You may also be interested in...

The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Riccardino
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Nicole @WstonesHemel

“Thunderheads a'comin' ”

High up in a tree hellbent on catching her prey she shouts down to Kreager knowing the law will pick him up, for he has killed many women and children, hell he killed the only man she ever knew as her Daddy.
Then... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 35

“Extraordinary debut novel. and a voice that needs to be heard.”

As debut novels go The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis stands as a post-apocalyptic novel that takes the reader on a journey into the wilderness of North America. Written through the words of the leading character Elka a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

“A literary postapocalypse with strong female characters”

When I began this I was pretty sure I was reading a book set in late 19th century America. Think John Wayne films or Stef Penney's Tenderness of Wolves. Think guns, bleak winters, trapping for furs and... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.