The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)
  • The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)
zoom

The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 08/06/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A richly imagined debut drenched in history, folklore and pagan magic, The Wolf and the Woodsman spins a darkly atmospheric tale of oppression, prejudice and the power of love around two unforgettable outcasts.

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

Stories don't have to be true to be real...

In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods. When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king's blood sacrifice, Evike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered.

But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but Evike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. Gaspar fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gaspar understands what it's like to be an outcast, and he and Evike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother.

As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression. However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as Evike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar need to decide whose side they're on, and what they're willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529100730
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 544 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.' - Samantha Shannon, author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

'Written with a timelessness of spirit, a magical world that knows no bounds, and characters who will make your heart pound and your eyes well up, The Wolf and the Woodsman is an intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.' - The Book Report

'A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down . . . stunningly rendered.' - S.A. Chakraborty, author of The Empire of Gold

'A striking debut . . . Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined.' - Tor.com

'Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away.' - Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

'A seriously impressive debut novel . . . grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book - and one that I will be recommending far and wide' - Cultured Vulture

'Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion.' - Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King

'A richly imagined exploration of faith and folklore . . . lushly written and thoroughly evocative' - Culturess

'The Wolf and the Woodsman, beautifully written and expertly told, is a darkly magical tale from beginning to end. I was equal parts terrified and delighted, somehow swept away and grounded in a world as beautiful as it is deadly.' - Isabel Ibanez, author of Woven in Moonlight

'Compelling, complicated, and worthwhile' - Kirkus

'Evike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.' - Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

'Examines religious freedom through the lens of myth and magic . . . The convincing enemies-to-lovers romance, fascinating religion-based magic system, and thoughtful examination of zealotry make this a notable debut.' - Publishers Weekly

'Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics.' - Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch

'Rich with vivid description, fantastical monsters, and magic unmatched by most other books for its pure physicality, this story may be strongly influenced by Jewish folklore, but the voice is original, perhaps as it's refreshingly female.' - The Jewish Book Council

'I enjoyed The Wolf and the Woodsman very much. Evike is a memorable protagonist, deeply flawed but trying, almost despite herself, to do the right thing. The writing is assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful.' - Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor

'Ava Reid has boldly announced herself as a literary force with The Wolf and the Woodsman. The novel is impressive in its beauty, characters, and uncompromising nature and is all the more impressive for being Reid's debut novel.' - SFF World

'The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. Evike is an unlikely heroine, torn by warring duties and identities but despite it all, she discovers a power that could save a nation from itself. But only if she lives. I couldn't put it down.' - Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown

'A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden and John Gwynne's The Shadow of the Gods.' - British Fantasy Society

You may also be interested in...

Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Shadow of the Gods
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Eye Of The World
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Daughter of the Moon Goddess
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
House of Sky and Breath
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Sistersong
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
Wild and Wicked Things
Added to basket
Dan at Cribbs Causeway, Bristol.

“Stunning.”

A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince. A world where monsters roam free.
In her forest-clad pagan village, Évike is the only woman not to have any powers.
She is no seer, fire-maker or healer, no. She is worthless to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Fabulous folkloric fantasy”

A beautiful (and at times gory) mix of historical based folkloric fantasy, I'd say the comparisons made with 'The Bear and the Nightingale' and 'Spinning Silver' are justified on this... More

Hardback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5
Natasha

“An exquisitely dark and heart-wrenchingly compelling fantasy debut!”

An exquisitely dark and heart-wrenchingly compelling fantasy debut ,weaving Hungarian history and Jewish folklore into a timeless tale of resilience, identity and survival.

As the only person in her village without... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.