The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)
  • The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)
zoom

The Wolf and the Woodsman (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 08/06/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

'Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.' Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree
______________________________________
Stories don't have to be true to be real...


In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods. When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king's blood sacrifice, Evike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered.

But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but Evike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. Gaspar fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gaspar understands what it's like to be an outcast, and he and Evike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother.

As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression. However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as Evike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar need to decide whose side they're on, and what they're willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all.
______________________________________
'Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed.' Alex E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

'Assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful.' Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor

'Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.' Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

'Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics' Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch

'The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. I couldn't put it down.' Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown

'One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day.' Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529100730
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart. * Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree *
A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down. In her stunningly rendered - and frankly terrifying - forbidden forests, Reid conjures up some of the ghastliest monsters I've ever read, and yet never lets us forget the worst horrors are perpetuated by human hands. * S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold *
Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed. * Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January *
Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion. * Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King *
The Wolf and the Woodsman, beautifully written and expertly told, is a darkly magical tale from beginning to end. I was equal parts terrified and delighted, somehow swept away and grounded in a world as beautiful as it is deadly. * Isabel Ibanez, author of Woven in Moonlight *

Evike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.

* Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart *
Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics. * Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch *
I enjoyed The Wolf and the Woodsman very much. Evike is a memorable protagonist, deeply flawed but trying, almost despite herself, to do the right thing. The writing is assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful. * Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor *
The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. Evike is an unlikely heroine, torn by warring duties and identities but despite it all, she discovers a power that could save a nation from itself. But only if she lives. I couldn't put it down. * Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown *
One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day. * Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters *

You may also be interested in...

The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Stunning.”

A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince. A world where monsters roam free.
In her forest-clad pagan village, Évike is the only woman not to have any powers.
She is no seer, fire-maker or healer, no. She is worthless to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.