The Witch's Heart (Paperback)
  • The Witch's Heart (Paperback)
zoom

The Witch's Heart (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/05/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

For fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint comes a beautifully wrought retelling of Norse mythology as a witch is exiled to a remote forest by Odin and forms an intriguing alliance with the trickster Loki. 

Angrboda's story begins where most witch tales end: with being burnt.

A punishment from Odin for sharing her visions of the future with the wrong people, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the furthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be the trickster god Loki, and her initial distrust of him-and any of his kind-grows reluctantly into a deep and abiding love.

Their union produces the most important things in her long life: a trio of peculiar children, each with a secret destiny, whom she is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin's all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life-and possibly all of existence-is in danger. Angrboda must choose whether she'll accept the fate that she's foreseen for her beloved family-or rise to remake it.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781789097061
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm

You may also be interested in...

Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Night Circus
Added to basket
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Added to basket
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Shining
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Slow But Packs a Punch”

'The Witch’s Heart’ is a retelling of Norse mythology, chronicling the life of the witch Angrboda from the time of her imprisonment by Odin to the end of the gods at Ragnarok. It’s slow to start, but packs an... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A beautiful retelling from a forgotten voice in Norse mythology”

This book has some of the best prose I’ve read in a while. It begins with the witch, then known as Gullveig, teaching Odin about seid, the magic that allows one to leave one’s body and divine the future. When she... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A beautiful, intricately woven story of a mother”

Written like a long lost chapter from the epics it’s inspired by, a story of love, betrayal and acceptance. Like a Greek tragedy, you know it won’t end well and yet you keep turning the pages compulsively, hoping for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.