The Witchfinder's Sister (Paperback)
  • The Witchfinder's Sister (Paperback)
zoom

The Witchfinder's Sister (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 14/12/2017
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six...

When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him? And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?

Based on a true story, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Miniaturist and Burial Rites.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241978054
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller" - Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent

"Beth Underdown grips us from the outset...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller" - Patrick Gale 

A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel * Ian McGuire *

Atmospheric and filled with foreboding, it's a novel that draws you under its spell * Stylist *

A haunting, brooding debut * Psychologies *

Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster * Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph *

A novel for our times. Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister explores another time and another place to lay bare the visceral horror of what a witch hunt truly is * New York Times Book Review *

Entertaining and thought-provoking, with a valuable message for our own times * Washington Post *

'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this. [It's] about tiny braveries and small courage... a real David and Goliath story, but far less straightforward' * Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street *

You may also be interested in...

Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Hawks
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find You First
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Raise an Elephant
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Women my brother Matthew killed....”

It is 1645 and Alice Hopkins is a pregnant recently widowed woman who must relocate to Manningtree, Essex to live with her brother Matthew . Matthew is now " The Witchfinder General " , responsible for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 126
TripFiction

“Historical novel set in MANNINGTREE, Essex”

This is one of the most engaging historical novels I have ever read. A compelling story, beautifully portrayed: the lives and times of good-natured people being turned upside-down, exposing their vulnerability and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 79
OwlBeSatReading

“Wonderful historical fiction”

4.5 stars rounded up to 5

Every time I read a historical fiction book, I'm reminded just how fascinating English history is, and that I absolutely bloody love this genre!

Beth Underdown has done a superb job... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.