The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018 (Hardback)
  • The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018 (Hardback)
zoom

The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018 (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 368 Pages
Published: 02/03/2017

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six . . .'

THE PAGE-TURNING RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER

'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
_________________________

When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?


Winner of the HWA Debut Crown Award 2017, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, Hamnet and Where the Crawdads Sing.
_________________________

'Vivid and terrifying' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

'A clever, pacey read that blends truth and fiction' The Times

'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale

'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go . . . at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale, author of Notes from an Exhibition

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241978030
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 510 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 33 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Drift
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Midnight and Blue
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback

“Women my brother Matthew killed....”

It is 1645 and Alice Hopkins is a pregnant recently widowed woman who must relocate to Manningtree, Essex to live with her brother Matthew . Matthew is now " The Witchfinder General " , responsible for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 131
TripFiction

“Historical novel set in MANNINGTREE, Essex”

This is one of the most engaging historical novels I have ever read. A compelling story, beautifully portrayed: the lives and times of good-natured people being turned upside-down, exposing their vulnerability and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 84
OwlBeSatReading

“Wonderful historical fiction”

4.5 stars rounded up to 5

Every time I read a historical fiction book, I'm reminded just how fascinating English history is, and that I absolutely bloody love this genre!

Beth Underdown has done a superb job... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 42

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: