The Witch Hunter (Paperback)
  • The Witch Hunter (Paperback)
zoom

The Witch Hunter (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 17/09/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
TRANSLATED INTO 38 LANGUAGES
HOLLYWOOD MOVIE IN PRODUCTION

A haunting and addictive occult thriller from the next big name in Scandinavian Noir, perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo
___________

WHEN THE STORY ENDS, THE HUNT BEGINS . . .

Detective Jessica Niemi is drawn into a high-profile investigation after the wife of a famous author, Roger Koponen, appears to have been killed in a bizarre ritual.

As more twisted murders occur in the coming days, it becomes obvious that Jessica is hunting a serial killer - one that is taking brutal inspiration from Koponen's bestselling trilogy . . .

Has a devoted fan lost their mind, or is this case more personal?

Nobody is safe in this rollercoaster thriller from award-winning author Max Seeck.

'The Witch Hunter, translated with icy precision by Kristian London, is written in short, sharp, present-tense chapters, a technique which adds to its relentless tension [and] a resolution as bleak as anything Poe might have conjured' - Wall Street Journal

'If you only read one Nordic noir novel this autumn, make it The Witch Hunter - a chilling female-led thriller that will please fans of Lisbeth Salander and Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy' - Culture Fly

'[A] riveting, multi-layered debut, blending masterful police procedural with a chilling exploration of the occult' - Sara Blaedel #1 International Bestselling Author

'One of the best books I have read. Ever. Absolutely thrilling, well-written, and oh-so-hard to put down' - Emelie Schepp, author of Slowly We Die

'The Witch Hunter is everything I wish for in a thriller: exceptional story, exceptional characters, exceptional writing, and shocking twists - exceptional everything' - Chris Mooney, author of Blood World

'One twist follows another . . . Seeck imbues this riveting procedural with a deliciously creepy undertone' - Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

'Dark and intricate . . . Vividly cinematic and impactful' - Booklist STARRED REVIEW

'A disturbing tale of murder and madness' - Kirkus Reviews

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787394797
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'The Witch Hunter, translated with icy precision by Kristian London, is written in short, sharp, present-tense chapters, a technique which adds to its relentless tension. Flashbacks to earlier episodes in Jessica's life suggest that the strangeness currently unfolding is tied to her personal history. Discovering the how and why of it brings a resolution as bleak as anything Poe might have conjured' * Wall Street Journal *
'If you only read one Nordic noir novel this autumn, make it The Witch Hunter - a chilling female-led thriller that will please fans of Lisbeth Salander and Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy' * Culture Fly *
'Seeck's riveting, multi-layered debut, blending masterful police procedural with a chilling exploration of the occult, kept me up all night, devouring it in one amazing gulp, and checking under the bed' -- Sara Blaedel #1 International Bestselling Author
'One of the best books I have read. Ever. Absolutely thrilling, well-written, and oh-so-hard to put down' -- Emelie Schepp, author of Slowly We Die
'The Witch Hunter is everything I wish for in a thriller: exceptional story, exceptional characters, exceptional writing, and shocking twists - exceptional everything. I loved this book, and you will too' -- Chris Mooney, author of Blood World
'One twist follows another . . . Seeck imbues this riveting procedural with a deliciously creepy undertone' * Publishers Weekly *
'Dark and intricate . . . Vividly cinematic and impactful. Seeck has an uncanny ability to unspool reveals at just the right pace to get the reader's heart pounding as they make the connection at the same moment as the detective on page' * Booklist *
'A disturbing tale of murder and madness' * Kirkus Reviews *

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Invisible Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
20th Victim
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Private Moscow
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fair Warning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Deliciously dark”

I have to admit I haven’t read much of the Nordic Noir genre, but after reading The Witch Hunter I think I will be persuaded to read more. Set in Helsinki, The Witch Hunter is the first in a new series of books... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A thrilling read”

If there’s one thing that I like doing, it’s discovering new authors. Max Seeck is certainly a new author for me, but I can guarantee that I will be reading more of his work in the future. I thoroughly enjoyed... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Raven88

“An intensely malevolent tale...”

With Seeck’s background in screenwriting it is little wonder that he has produced one of the most visual thrillers that I have read for some time. From the opening scene with a woman pacing the housing equivalent of a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.