Dark Water Daughter - The Winter Sea 1 (Paperback)
  • Dark Water Daughter - The Winter Sea 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Water Daughter - The Winter Sea 1 (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 464 Pages
Published: 11/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Tricia Levenseller and Sue Lynn Tan, the first volume of Long's captivating fantasy series follows the exploits of a woman stormsinger and a pirate hunter on the Jacobean high seas.

A fearsome young woman stormsinger and pirate hunter join forces against a deathless pirate lord in this swashbuckling Jacobean adventure on the high-seas. Launching the Winter Sea series, full of magic, betrayal and redemption, for readers of Adrienne Young, R. J. Barker and Naomi Novik.

Mary Firth is a Stormsinger: a woman whose voice can still hurricanes and shatter armadas. Faced with servitude to pirate lord Silvanus Lirr, Mary offers her skills to his arch-rival in exchange for protection - and, more importantly, his help sending Lirr to a watery grave.

But her new ally has a vendetta of his own, and Mary's dreams are dark and full of ghistings, spectral creatures who inhabit the ancient forests of her homeland and the figureheads of ships. Samuel Rosser is a disgraced naval officer serving aboard The Hart, an infamous privateer commissioned to bring Lirr to justice. He will stop at nothing to capture Lirr, restore his good name and reclaim the only thing that stands between himself and madness: a talisman stolen by Mary.

Finally, driven into the eternal ice at the limits of their world, Mary and Samuel must choose their loyalties and battle forces older and more powerful than the pirates who would make them slaves. Come sail the Winter Sea, for action-packed, high-stakes adventures, rich characterisation and epic plots full of intrigue and betrayal.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781803362601
Number of pages: 464


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A wonderful adventure! Dark Water Daughter swept me to the high seas with its captivating story, rich original lore, fascinating characters, and slow-burn romance. Immersive from start till end, this is a hard one to put down." Sue Lynn Tan, Sunday Times bestselling author of Daughter of the Moon Goddess "Intricately crafted, stunningly unique, and so vivid you can almost taste the frigid air of the Winter Sea, Dark Water Daughter is my favorite H.M. Long book yet." Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart "Dark Water Daughter is a unique and breath-taking slice of high seas fantasy - H. M. Long gives us deliciously complex characters to root for and a world full of surprises. I didn't know I needed these fantasy pirates and their freezing ocean until they sailed into my life. Enormous fun!" Jen Williams, award-winning author of The Winnowing Flame trilogy "Dark Water Daughter is a compelling, propulsive adventure that serves as a spectacular start to Long's new series. The vast world and intriguing lore are complex in a way that feels effortless; it might just be Long's best work yet. I was utterly engrossed." M.K. Lobb, author of Seven Faceless Saints "Long opens up a gripping, wildly original universe packed to the brim with wonder: sentient figureheads, songs that harness the wind, and a cast of rogues, villains, and exiles in pursuit of freedom-sometimes with terrible cost. Every twist left me surprised and enthralled. Fantasy readers, come aboard and enjoy the ride." Allison Epstein, author of A Tip for the Hangman "Dark Water Daughter is excellent. Fresh fantasy grounded in seafaring lore and the golden age of piracy - a fantastical 17th century-esque epic adventure. I can't wait for more." Christopher Irvin, author of Ragged "Outstanding naval fantasy; Robin Hobb meets Master and Commander." Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones "Dark Water Daughter is a ripsnorting, swashbuckling storm of a book. I adored the salty, wintery world (the Age of Sail with a magical twist!) and its folklore: shipboard weather witches, mysterious mages and sentient, ghostly figureheads. I plunged head first into this story and didn't come up for air until the very end." Kell Woods, author of After the Forest "Flintlock fantasy at its best! If you're a Pirates of the Caribbean fan looking for a fresh take that still scratches the itch, Dark Water Daughter is for you. This incredible tale blends elements of classic pirate fantasy with Long's unique, wintry touch and lively voice to create an entirely new world and a fascinating lore-based magic system. Fast-paced action and eye-popping twists and turns will have you glued to this book until the very last page." M.J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves PRAISE FOR TEMPLE OF NO GOD "I am obsessed with what H. M. Long has created-the clear, vivid prose, the captivating mythology, and the absolute force of nature that is Hessa. Utterly enthralling, and a world I loved getting lost in. I can't wait for the next book." Claire Legrand, New York Times-bestselling author of Furyborn "H.M. Long takes us on another epic, fast-paced adventure in Temple of No God. As exciting and gripping as its predecessor, this standalone in the same world starts with a bang and doesn't let up, full of intrigue, betrayal, and action sequences that don't disappoint. Hessa is a heroine to be reckoned with." Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart "Once again, H. M. Long pulls us effortlessly into a landscape of warring gods, tribes and impulses. What a joy to return to Hessa's side as, having battled herself and won, she draws her axes again - this time to build a better world. Sure, there's a fantastic fight scene for everyone and the pace never falters, but where this book really shines is in its emotionally nuanced depiction of character. I can't wait to see what she does next." Lucy Holland, author of Sistersong "Long certainly made her entrance known with Hall of Smoke, but with Temple of No God, she solidifies herself as one of the great new voices in epic fantasy. Temple of No God is a story about adventure, war, and godly strife, but at its heart, it is also a poetic yet action-packed exploration of grief, longing, and obligation. Bold characters, shocking twists, and heart-pounding action will keep you turning pages long after lights out." M. J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves "This book is a bonfire on a bleak winter night. Exciting and dangerous, brilliantly plotted and paced, this is the perfect followup to Hall of Smoke. Come for the axe-smash battles, the crumbling empire, the dangerous cults, and the perfect puppy companion, and then stay for all of that stuff, because it rules." Joshua Johnson, author of The Forever Sea "While knowledge and responsibility weigh on Hessa in a manner reminiscent of many warrior-legends of popular European mythology and heroic fantasy, Temple of No God does not succumb to the dreary moroseness of the aftermath of conquest. Instead, we get to witness Hessa relish her role as victor while contending with her status as a vanquisher. Fantasy readers who like their heroes battle-hardened yet thoughtful and tender-not in spite of war but because of it-will enjoy Temple of No God." Suyi Davies Okungbowa, author of Son of the Storm PRAISE FOR HALL OF SMOKE: Hall of Smoke is the kind of fantasy I love, filled with both high stakes and tender, nuanced human emotion. Add to that lyrical writing and intriguing world building, and you have a truly special debut. Not to be missed. - Jessica Cluess, author of the Kingdom on Fire series and House of Dragons Long gives us a flawed hero, a woman battling grief, rage and - perhaps most poignant of all - doubt. It is thrilling to stand beside Hessa as she stares into the abyss and begins to reassemble herself there. Long's writing is elegantly understated, filling out Hessa's complex world without ever stranding us - we are with her through every stumble and triumph. Hall of Smoke is ultimately a book about what it means to have your deepest illusions shattered and still scrape together the courage to begin again. A vivid and compelling debut. - Lucy Holland, author of Sistersong Hall of Smoke is a breath of fresh air. The world is unique, the fights are top-notch, and the cast is unforgettable. A dazzling, fast-paced story with clashing civilizations, squabbling gods, and an indomitable heroine caught in the center of it all, Hessa's is a tale that will grab you from the very first line and won't let you go. I can't wait to see what Long comes up with next. - Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart Hessa is a brilliantly written heroine, and I could easily have spent another 400 pages with her. The book's world-building is intricate and refreshingly original, and it all ramps up to a finale that is the dictionary definition of epic. - Allison Epstein, author of A Tip for the Hangman The story world was rich and real, and I have rarely read a fantasy novel that transported me like Hall of Smoke did. If you are a fan of myths and legends where gods and goddesses roam the earth and meddle with the poor mortals that serve them, you are in for an absolute treat with this book. - M. J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves

You may also be interested in...

A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Bury Our Bones in the Midnight Soil
Added to basket
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Wind and Truth
Added to basket
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Milica S.

“Perfect swashbuckling adventure on the high seas”

This is one of the best books I've read, not just this year, but in my whole life. There's everything you could want: pirates, action, well developed characters, magic, and a dash of romance. WHAT MORE DO... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Dark Water Daughter review”

4.5 stars

I'm extremely picky when it comes to pirate/high-sea adventures.
And I'm very happy to say that I loved Dark Water Daughter! The plot was engaging, and the characters were lovable. I loved the... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Beautiful World”

We join Mary, a Stormsinger. People with her ability are normally taken captive by Pirates to use on their ships. Mary does not want this to be her fate, so attempts to ally herself with someone who can offer a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: