The Winter Road (Paperback)
  • The Winter Road (Paperback)
zoom

The Winter Road (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 15/11/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A gritty and epic adventure to appeal to fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski's The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie - The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.

'A bold, assured storyteller' PETER NEWMAN author of The Vagrant

The greatest empire of them all began with a road.

The Circle - a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr's battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

Praise for Adrian Selby:

'This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster . . . Highly recommended' JOHN GWYNNE

'Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie' RT BOOK REVIEWS

'A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories' FANTASY FACTION

'Wears its grimdark on its sleeve . . . a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss' INTERZONE

'I give it nothing but the highest recommendation' GRIMDARK MAGAZINE

For more epic fantasy action from Adrian Selby, check out SNAKEWOOD or follow him on twitter at @adrianlselby for updates.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356508375
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 194 x 126 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Grim mercenaries and badass alchemists brought to life by a bold, assured storyteller - Peter Newman, author of THE VAGRANT

A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories - Fantasy Faction

Snakewood's narrative voices are the real strength here . . . contemporary and as grimdark as it comes - British Fantasy Society

Uniquely dark and gritty fantasy. An intriguing debut - Bibliosanctum

Set in a brutal world of subtle magic, clashing empires, and commercial interests, this is an impressive fantasy debut. Selby demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author - Booklist

Immensely readable . . . a fantasy novel that remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars - B&N Science Fiction and Fantasy blog

Covering ground well-trodden by Joe Abercrombie, with a similar use of earthy language and extreme violence, the story offers an original and effective twist with the use of potions, plants, and poisons on the battlefield . . . relish the well-choreographed action scenes in this debut fantasy - Library Journal

A very dark fantasy story with a distinct western flair . . . absolutely fascinating and incredibly original - Sense of Wonder

This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster. It's adult and grim, but instead of the nihilism and bleakness of much Grimdark these days it has a streak of love and hope running through the heart of it. Most of that is to be found in the central character, Teyr Amondsen. She's flawed, vulnerable and also as hard as nails. I loved her, I loved this book. Highly recommended. - John Gwynne

You may also be interested in...

Bury Our Bones in the Midnight Soil
Added to basket
The Book of Elsewhere
Added to basket
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Wind and Truth
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: