Ts&Cs apply
The Winter List (Paperback)
  • The Winter List (Paperback)
zoom

The Winter List (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £9.99
£8.49
Save £1.50 (15%)
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 09/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Longlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger 2024

Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors.

'S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life' Antonia Hodgson

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad.

Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker's friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York.

As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.


******************************

Praise for The Winter List

'A wonderful storyteller' The Times

'Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy' Sun

'A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinating' Guardian

'Gripping fiction with historical fact' Sunday Times

'What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge' 5* Reader Review

'Kept me hooked right up to the end' 5* Reader Review

'A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended' 5* Reader Review

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529414264
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

With a propulsive plot, this is a well-researched and fascinating portrait of a febrile, still divided nation, where long-held grudges fester in an atmosphere of broken trust - Guardian

Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy - Sun

Manon faces daily danger in a novel that shows MacLean's ability to invest gripping fiction with historical fact - Sunday Times

A wonderful storyteller - The Times

You may also be interested in...

A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Pompeii
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Vivienne O'Regan

“An engaging political thriller set in the early years of the Restoration”

‘The Winter List’ is Book 6 in S. G. MacLean’s Damian Seeker series of historical political thrillers set in the mid-17th Century.

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Highly recommended”

I was so happy to see that a new novel set in the book of the Seeker was going to be published.
Even if Damian is not present all the characters belong to the world of the previous stories and it was a pleasure to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Fans of Damien Seeker won't be disappointed in this glorious tale.”

Fans of Damien Seeker won't be disappointed in this glorious tale.

Following the events of "The House of Lamentations", it's 166o and Charles II has been restored to the throne. Cromwell's... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: